PDA

View Full Version : MacBook Air


luvdamac
06-07-2014, 07:09 AM
Hello all,
I am just dipping my toes into coding and got Alice recommended to me. I cannot install on my MB Air with mountain lion. I unpack the download and go to start the install but it just closes.

I couldn't find any information as to why it is doing it, any help would be highly regarded.

Cheers

MrMoke
06-07-2014, 10:11 AM
The download/install instructions on the Alice Website mention possible problems with installing to Macs, and suggest the workarounds.

Several items specifically mention problems with Mountain Lion and Mavericks.

hope this helps.

http://alice3.pbworks.com/w/page/57571530/Gatekeeper%20on%20Mac%20OS%2010_8#UnidentifiedDeve loper

luvdamac
06-07-2014, 08:44 PM
The download/install instructions on the Alice Website mention possible problems with installing to Macs, and suggest the workarounds.

Several items specifically mention problems with Mountain Lion and Mavericks.

hope this helps.

http://alice3.pbworks.com/w/page/57571530/Gatekeeper%20on%20Mac%20OS%2010_8#UnidentifiedDeve loper

Thanks MrMoke, I have read this and seems as though I am not getting any security warning and I have installed the latest Java, I did not think this would be causing the issue. When I click on the install Alice icon, it bounces on the dock a few times then just disappears.

Cheers,

MrMoke
06-07-2014, 10:35 PM
I forgot to ask which version of Alice you were installing. Alice2 or Alice3. This might help the Alice guys if they are watching.

I assumed it was 3, but there are problems with 2 also.

http://alice3.pbworks.com/w/page/1756703/Alice%20help

jrrTolkien
06-08-2014, 04:13 PM
Yeah, I have only had problems with Alice 3, so I'm pretty sure that what luvdamac is trying to get.

-jrr

luvdamac
06-09-2014, 03:22 AM
Yeah, I have only had problems with Alice 3, so I'm pretty sure that what luvdamac is trying to get.

-jrr

sorry for delay guys, yes I am trying 3 (thinking it would be sorted with any issues). Here is an image of the system. Which knowing my lack of technical things - is not sufficient..

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8gyfziertw8ftlt/System.tiff

jrrTolkien
06-09-2014, 11:19 AM
Oh, hey, you use dropbox, too! Anyway, could you post an image of the error message you get? And if you can't get it to work, Alice 2 works very well, too.

-Jrr

luvdamac
06-09-2014, 04:48 PM
Oh, hey, you use dropbox, too! Anyway, could you post an image of the error message you get? And if you can't get it to work, Alice 2 works very well, too.

-Jrr

Hi Jrr,

As mentioned earlier, there is no error message. The icon bounces in the dock a few times then just disappears.