PDA

View Full Version : Riot New FPS


RavenOfCode
11-26-2014, 02:31 PM
Riot

New FPS game based off of a few of my older games.

You are sent to take down a riot in the middle east, W.A.S.D to move, arrow keys left and right to turn, up to scope, down to shoot, Q. to reload, and enter to pause and bring up the menu, kill enimies gain xp and money, buy new better guns, kill more enimies level up kill more enimies, have fun. :)

Please note the game is still in the Alpha stages so there are glitches and things that i need to finish.

Arm yourself with your trusty m9, take out the m4 or blast away with the m107, whatever gun you choose it will own... :)

Controls can also be found in myfirstmethod (renamed instructions)

The game is to large so i posted it here:

Here is the link:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/jx976odj42ea2g2/Riot+New+FPS+Game.a2w

Enjoy and please post comments!

RavenOfCode

AliceAndConnor
11-26-2014, 09:19 PM
That's awesome RavenOfCode! I never knew how to actually pause the world, and I took a look at your code and now I get it! :)
Just one quick question: Did you use a collision detection from the camera to the terrorist to make him die, or did you do it differently? I found it's really accurate, much more accurate and precise than my FPS, and was just wondering how you did it? Thank you so much for reading and sharing your game!:)

RavenOfCode
11-27-2014, 06:46 AM
Glad you liked it! :)

With the bullet detection I used a simple function to detect when the enemies were hit, you can take a look at it: camera > functions > isHit.

It is very useful in an FPS as when lag gets worse it still functions well.

The pausing can be made better but I was to lazy... lol normally I use a function that lets no enemies move or you move when its turned on, but its a little hard when you wanted to add that feature after making a lot of the game... lol.

By the way how far did you get, (what level).

AliceAndConnor
11-28-2014, 12:16 AM
Awesome, now I get how to the collisions work! Thanks for telling me!
It actually turns out I was kind of not too good at it, becuase I got the first couple of guys, but than I spazzed the gun and before I knew it I was out of ammo and dead! I should've bought some more, but at the time I didn't know I could do it! I'll try again today or tomorrow and see how I do! I don't even recall making it past level 1! LOL :p

RavenOfCode
11-28-2014, 06:23 AM
Well you have endless ammo, you just need to reload to get more :)

My best is level 14...

AliceAndConnor
11-29-2014, 01:37 PM
Oh, oops! Sorry I didn't realize that. For some reason I had in mind that I needed to buy more ammo, maybe I didn't read the instructions carefully enough! :eek: :D
Now I have been able to make it to level 4! I will keep trying and also upgrade my gun to see if I can do better! :)

sfunk
11-30-2014, 12:00 PM
The game is pretty decent. Only issues were some animation glitches when too many buttons were pressed at once (common in Alice) and when you get the kill screen, you can still play. plus turning is a little to slow. You should make it adjustable.

RavenOfCode
12-02-2014, 03:57 PM
Yea Ive seen all these issues, currently Im working on a new update that fixes these, added a detection system, new guns, and a new enemy. :)

sfunk
12-02-2014, 05:46 PM
Looking forward to checking it out.