PDA

View Full Version : importing video into worlds


codemaster
05-04-2010, 08:23 PM
Would it be possible to import a video file into an alice world, perhaps to create a TV screen object in a world?

King Gamer(gorit)
05-04-2010, 11:08 PM
This is a good idea however implementation of it would be challenging. I already know how to make a video play in alice but it requires saving each frame an importing them as a texture. The problem is that a video file would take up an emense amunt of space.

x2495iiii
05-04-2010, 11:47 PM
Unfortunately, this is true. You could potentially save time and effort by lowering the framerate or by making a simple animation of three or four slides that loop over and over, like a crude cartoon running.

jediaction
05-05-2010, 08:30 AM
I have made a game with pictures from another movie. Well a omvie i edited by my other brother. It has a lot of pictyures and after 15 pictures, it got really messed up

King Gamer(gorit)
05-05-2010, 03:07 PM
I have made a game with pictures from another movie. Well a omvie i edited by my other brother. It has a lot of pictyures and after 15 pictures, it got really messed up

Haha no surprise though alice would crash quickly with alot of images.

jediaction
05-05-2010, 05:25 PM
yup and it gets really complicated with the showing = false and true!

King Gamer(gorit)
05-05-2010, 08:44 PM
Good point. You could however make a world with a list of pictures and a control that adds up 1 each time used. There would be a method with paramaters. I didnt explain this well though.

codemaster
05-11-2010, 01:02 PM
would it be possible to display a video scene in the beginning as an intro video? Not rendering it in 3d, but just displaying the video, then start the 3d rendering.

jediaction
05-11-2010, 02:29 PM
No, but i did ask the Alice team to make a seperate Alice program that allows that kind of stuff.

King Gamer(gorit)
05-11-2010, 03:23 PM
No, but i did ask the Alice team to make a seperate Alice program that allows that kind of stuff.

How did you ask them that.
Secondly you can make fades.

jediaction
05-11-2010, 03:57 PM
How did you ask them that.
Secondly you can make fades.

Email them

King Gamer(gorit)
05-11-2010, 04:00 PM
Ah someone uses resources.

jediaction
05-11-2010, 04:38 PM
?

King Gamer(gorit)
05-11-2010, 04:53 PM
Email is a resouce Dah. LOL

jediaction
05-11-2010, 07:19 PM
yah i know, but what about it?

King Gamer(gorit)
05-11-2010, 07:32 PM
I never use resources:D

jediaction
05-11-2010, 07:51 PM
ok

zonedabone
06-05-2010, 11:08 PM
would it be possible to display a video scene in the beginning as an intro video? Not rendering it in 3d, but just displaying the video, then start the 3d rendering.

Yes! Make the movie on a billboard. now measure the dimensions, and put it a set distance away from the camera. The camera viewing angles are in radians, so just do the math. I'm not great with trig, so I can't. :D


Also, have we tried using GIf images?

Dameria
06-05-2010, 11:52 PM
Yes! Make the movie on a billboard. now measure the dimensions, and put it a set distance away from the camera. The camera viewing angles are in radians, so just do the math. I'm not great with trig, so I can't. :D


Also, have we tried using GIf images?

Haha zonedabone, you are always trying to use advanced math to solve simple problems!!! There is no need for radians if it is a simple billboard with pictures... The problem we have to figure out is how to have low-quality pictures so it does not take up 10 mb of space in the game.

zonedabone
06-06-2010, 05:22 PM
Haha zonedabone, you are always trying to use advanced math to solve simple problems!!! There is no need for radians if it is a simple billboard with pictures... The problem we have to figure out is how to have low-quality pictures so it does not take up 10 mb of space in the game.

That was for having things look 2d. For videos, simply have a list of textures and use do in order.

jediaction
06-07-2010, 09:01 AM
I tried it. Its not as easy as you guys think. Making movies with bill boards is hard. If you can do it, do it and post

codemaster
06-08-2010, 10:54 PM
could you take a picutre of the desired video, and set that as the texture on a billboard in real time

jediaction
06-09-2010, 09:57 AM
Uh...taking a picture of a video, Yes, thats a billboard, Saving the Video, No, Thats importing a video

zonedabone
06-09-2010, 09:27 PM
Well, jython can do anything. We'll see what happens!:)

King Gamer(gorit)
06-10-2010, 07:48 PM
Yeah, btw can it play music not in the world?

jediaction
06-11-2010, 09:20 AM
NO, unless there is some Jython script that can do that, but why waste your time. If you uploaded the game, no one else would have the music in the same directory:confused:

King Gamer(gorit)
06-11-2010, 09:20 PM
ok, that's a dimwitted post. Remember the discusion we had about A-tom studios using install worlds.

jediaction
06-12-2010, 09:08 AM
Remember the discusion we had about A-tom studios using install worlds.

uh...no?

zonedabone
06-13-2010, 12:12 PM
I can have worlds download files to certain directories and then use them. I'm working on a way to set textures from external files!:)

King Gamer(gorit)
06-17-2010, 04:24 PM
Um, Just gunna say that, uh, well I forget. But, If we built worlds that installed files we could have them there instead of in the world.