PDA

View Full Version : Built in collision


Watsamax1
05-08-2010, 09:55 AM
For Alice 30 collision would be nice. Plus a option to turn it on and off. Because i put my collision in when the worlds starts do, so i dont have 2 million options. If theres a better way please tell me. Plus with it built in it doesn't take time to say if im witting 1 meter ok test nope its gotta be 0.8 meters.

jediaction
05-08-2010, 10:15 AM
Im not sure what your asking...but...you can just to turn on and off, use my other example i made and you can just to the normal Event collisions or a method way of using If Else statements, are you new to Alice because that would vary my suggestion to you. If you know how to use If Else statements then follow my past instructions

Watsamax1
05-08-2010, 11:49 AM
I know how to make a collision. As by turn on and off is say you want to be able to enter something idk. maybe a car where if you have a collision now you may enter it and stuff like that. "Or buildings with interiors. So you just dont et kicked out of the building vehicle or that.

jediaction
05-08-2010, 02:04 PM
It would be using True and False

Dameria
05-08-2010, 09:26 PM
Im not sure what your asking

I'm pretty sure he is suggesting this for the Alice Team to implement in Alice 3.0, considering that this is the suggestion box. I agree they should have a collision detection method in Alice 3.0. They are all smarter than we are, they can probably do it easily for us ;)

jediaction
05-09-2010, 08:16 PM
but ther not....I dont know what they are doing right now but does not look like much and i cant contact Gabe

dylmyster22
05-28-2010, 02:13 PM
I think what he is saying, or atleast what i would hope to be implemented, is to make it so when you place an object down, such as a building, you can go into properties, and there is an option to make it un able to pass through. That would be kind of helpful and would make it easier on the code being put into the methods.

zenteo
06-04-2010, 03:24 PM
Or even better:
Implement a physic engine in Alice!
THAT would be AWSOME!

noahx23
06-09-2010, 06:43 PM
Or even better:
Implement a physic engine in Alice!
THAT would be AWSOME!

Most definetly awsome:D:D

Dameria
06-09-2010, 07:03 PM
Haha yeah that would be awesome. To bad it would make everything so slow that you could barely do anything else complex within the game :/

reuben2011
02-18-2011, 07:22 AM
I think what he is saying, or atleast what i would hope to be implemented, is to make it so when you place an object down, such as a building, you can go into properties, and there is an option to make it un able to pass through. That would be kind of helpful and would make it easier on the code being put into the methods.

Even better would be to make that property an array of objects that can and can't pass through it.

reaper1395
05-12-2011, 03:51 PM
Haha yeah that would be awesome. To bad it would make everything so slow that you could barely do anything else complex within the game :/

why would it slow it down? in the new version they should theoretically be speeding everything up anyways and hopefully have more commands/ options as well.

supposedly

Dameria
05-12-2011, 04:11 PM
There are so many different things that could go wrong with a built in collision detection, and knowing how Alice is right now, it would probably be buggy to the point where our collision detections work better anyways. Imagine all of the possibilities of importing custom objects, all of the misplaced axises and high poly counts, they would suddenly have collision detection for all of their sides? It's probably not going to happen, and if it did, again, it would probably fail.

Mr Kidnapper
05-27-2011, 01:54 AM
When it comes to collision detection, games tend to use extremely simple objects such as rectangles and capsules instead of actual polys. It's cost efficient and no one would notice, or at least not care since clipping in complex objects or gaping holes between two objects are almost expected in games.

arty-fishL
05-27-2011, 11:54 AM
When it comes to collision detection, games tend to use extremely simple objects such as rectangles and capsules instead of actual polys. It's cost efficient and no one would notice, or at least not care since clipping in complex objects or gaping holes between two objects are almost expected in games.Sometimes they take this too far, like in COD, its really annoying not being able to get onto a crate or a wall when the top of it is at a ridiculously able-to-get-to jumping distance. Meanwhile its brilliant where it is acceptable to actually go around the polys, like in Battlefield BC2.

arty-fishL
09-07-2011, 03:42 PM
Arty,

This is one of my peeves with COD as well. I seriously have spent sometimes streaks of ten minutes at a time trying to climb on to a ledge that has the appearance of being accessible. Hopefully CODMOD 3 will have some fixes with these kinds of issues. Sorry for the thread bump, just kind of something that hit home...Glad you agree. I hope it will have fixes, but its not likely, the problem just seems to be getting worse with each new COD.

jediaction
09-07-2011, 04:08 PM
Well, they said they are getting rid of Commando, Last stand, One man Army, the elevator glitch, and there balancing the gun fire. I think it will be awesome. I can't wait for the campaign! The multiplayer I'm not so excited about, but everything else looks spot on, with breath taking explosions and cutscenes!

Mr Kidnapper
09-09-2011, 03:31 AM
www.crydev.net/newspage.php?news=73551 Perfect example of collision. For a complicated 14,000 poly Humvee they use some 40 polys for the collision "proxy." Looks exactly like a cardboard box.

David B
09-09-2011, 04:36 PM
I'm pretty sure he is suggesting this for the Alice Team to implement in Alice 3.0, considering that this is the suggestion box. I agree they should have a collision detection method in Alice 3.0. They are all smarter than we are, they can probably do it easily for us ;)

If you know Python, you could probably add it into Alice 2.2 by yourself.

Yes, I think it would be a good idea, but sometimes I like coding it myself.