PDA

View Full Version : Make subpart


DensetsuNoKaboom
06-17-2010, 05:19 PM
This suggestion is the result of a bit of hassle between me and x2495jjjj.

There should be a method that lets you make an object become a subpart of another object.

x2495iiii
06-17-2010, 05:23 PM
jjjj? Whosat;)?

DensetsuNoKaboom
06-17-2010, 05:35 PM
For DentetsuNoKaboom.
Consider it payback.

x2495iiii
06-17-2010, 10:23 PM
I was only off by one letter, dude. Plus, I coulda sworn Dentetsu actually meant something in Japanese, darnit:p.

DensetsuNoKaboom
06-19-2010, 09:12 AM
In Japanese, "Dentetsu" appears to be a proper name, while "Densetsu" means "legend", so my username literally means "Legend of Kaboom".

And in a way, I was only off by one letter too.

But getting on topic...

x2495iiii
06-19-2010, 08:43 PM
Bah.

On topic, I only know of two users able to cut models into functional subparts: DrJim and zenteo. DrJim's been inactive for some time, and zenteo seems to be the same way. If they come back, I'll ask them.

jediaction
11-19-2010, 08:27 AM
haha. DrJim has been inactive for many many months. I dont think hes coming back X. I think you should come up with a different plan:rolleyes:

debussybunny563
11-19-2010, 02:05 PM
And x's post was exactly 5 months ago.

I don't think it's still relevant.

Bah.

On topic, I only know of two users able to cut models into functional subparts: DrJim and zenteo. DrJim's been inactive for some time, and zenteo seems to be the same way. If they come back, I'll ask them.

lol add me to the list (and yourself as well)

jediaction
11-19-2010, 03:10 PM
Are you serious. No one posted on this thread for 5 months!!

reuben2011
02-18-2011, 01:13 AM
Isn't that the purpose of vehicles in Alice. You could easily create what appears to be sophisticated object with sub-sub-sub...-sub parts by making a chain of vehicle dependacies.

jediaction
02-18-2011, 08:48 AM
Yah but the polygon count would go have to go up and the object would be to big

Mr Kidnapper
04-11-2011, 04:11 PM
Just to be off topic, that is incorrect. It does not mean Legend of Kaboom—it means Legendary Kaboom. Legend of Kaboom would be "Kaboom no Densetsu." Though if you so please, if I get my version of 3ds Max working I could easily create an object into subparts. A while ago I finished the "untextured plane", which is not a Harrier but a MiG-29, and converted it into a working Alice Object with fully functioning landing gear. It is still untextured though. I suck at textures.

Though your worry for polygon count confuses me. Why would a disfunctional object converted to a working Alice object increase polys so much that it would not work in alice? Why, yesterday I added an 80,000 poly model (43,000 vertices) into Alice and it worked fine. Then again, the day before that I installed a Radeon HD5830 into my desktop. The poly count limit for this some 7 year old school computer with a dual core Pentium 4 and onboard graphics I'm on now is roughly 20,000. The polygons created by splitting objects would only increase the count by some ten or hundred depending on the complexity of the object.

reuben2011
04-12-2011, 12:13 PM
Yeah, I don't see how converting objects to sub-objects of other objects would make the polygon count higher. :confused:

x2495iiii
04-12-2011, 12:16 PM
He's assuming that you'd add polygons to the pieces you cut off to keep them from looking transparent from that side. It's good practice to do that, but if you're creative, you can avoid it.

room14
04-23-2011, 03:33 AM
I was only off by one letter, dude. Plus, I coulda sworn Dentetsu actually meant something in Japanese, darnit:p.

dentestu means electric train....:D

TauTrumpsPi
04-23-2011, 09:42 AM
But if it's a subpart you can save it as one whole object for usage in other worlds instead of seperate ones, can't you?

debussybunny563
04-23-2011, 11:22 AM
Correct. Each subpart can function as its own object. In fact, you can drag the subpart out of the object in the hierarchy and make it a new object.

For some reason, you can't do the reverse; attempting to place an object "under" another object in the hierarchy to make it a subpart doesn't work, which is what this thread is about.

iua
04-24-2011, 11:48 AM
Couldn't you make a group in Alice and drag the subpart (and ONLY the subpart) into the folder then delete the main object it came with?

debussybunny563
04-24-2011, 04:23 PM
Couldn't you make a group in Alice and drag the subpart (and ONLY the subpart) into the folder then delete the main object it came with?

Sure. You don't have to drag it into a folder, though; anywhere works fine.

iua
04-24-2011, 04:53 PM
That's what I thought. :D

arty-fishL
05-09-2011, 07:26 PM
Please check out my thread here (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=35473#post35473) for stuff related to this.