PDA

View Full Version : My alice world won't open.


cpw3000
03-12-2011, 11:25 AM
THIS IS FOR A SCHOOL PROJECT AND I NEED IT BY MON.
hey, my alice world was working fine for days, and then one random day, it just stopped working.

Here is the file and the most recent backup.

jediaction
03-12-2011, 08:42 PM
I know how important this is to you and I am doing everything I can right now. I will get back to you before monday.

EDIT 1: The main file is corrupted now. IM sorry, but you cant acces it anymore, you have to go back to back ups. The throwable causes, I am figureing them out now...

EDIT 2: Ok, sorry but both files are broken. I believe for a split second I saw 3d texts in the project. You cant have to many of those.

I have expierienced this problem before and I lost a "HUGE!!!" file. Things to know about alice is...

1: Dont use to many 3d texts - 15 is good, any more, just be careful
2: Dont rename "ANYTHING" once you have about 50-660 objects in your game. Otherwise saving will not work. I figured that out the hard way so dont make the same mistake. This might be the reason for the error.


Other than that, sorry, I cant help you...

cpw3000
03-13-2011, 12:03 PM
I really appreciate this jediaction. Thankyou for doing all you can. You rock! I know i can't recover it, but would using slow and steady alice help this from happening again?

aikmin
03-29-2011, 07:09 AM
This may already be too late, but for the rest of you... Please try using regular names (ie. use character a-z A-Z, and numbers only). For your Battle of Saratoga file, you have 4 items with invalid name. It may not be your fault, maybe Alice messed up while saving your file. :)

Open the attached file and please make the necessary modification to your code. There is a whole bunch of null where your 4 items used to be. Please post what are the missing items so others know not to make the same mistake next time. Thanks. :)