PDA

View Full Version : unable to load wold - help desperately needed


user1434
05-01-2011, 03:00 PM
Hey all,

I am unable to load a world that I have been working on for a long time. I would really, *really* appreciate being able to recover any or all of this file. Please let me know if you think you can help.

You can download my file here: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9101279/experimental.a2w

I would greatly appreciate anyones help in getting this file to open!!


Full error message (saving as text in this post caused an error): http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9101279/error.png

Short error message:
Unable to load world
Alice 2.2

Throwable that caused the error:
java.io.FileNotFoundException: Not Found: NoCheck/__Unnamed3__/
elementData.xml

What I've tried:
I've read through the posts on here pretty extensively. I'm trying to unzip the file, make changes, and rezip it as a2w to see if it will load. The problem is, even if I go through these steps without changing anything, the error message changes, suggesting that I'm doing something wrong.

debussybunny563
05-01-2011, 03:01 PM
alsjdflasf

Um...


Anyway, post the world please and copy and paste the error that pops up when you try to open the world.

user1434
05-01-2011, 03:04 PM
Sorry, it wasn't letting me save the post with the error in it. I have edited my original post

user1434
05-01-2011, 03:29 PM
Even if I unzip the a2w and rezip it - without changing anything - the error changes to the following. This makes me think there is something fundamentally wrong with way I'm trying to fix the file


Unable to load world




Alice version: 2.2 02/10/2011



Throwable that caused the error:

java.io.FileNotFoundException: Not Found: elementData.xml

x2495iiii
05-01-2011, 04:28 PM
If it's throwing errors after simply unzipping and re-zipping, then there's something wrong on Alice's side, not the world's. For some reason, Alice is looking for a piece of the file that it expects to be there, but doesn't exist, so it throws the error and refuses to load the world.

Unfortunately when this happens, the only thing you can do is restore a backup and work from that. You could try placing some dummy data in the directory Alice is trying to read from (I was considering copying one of the unnamed folders, renaming it according to what Alice claimed to be looking for, then trying to open that in Alice), but I doubt that will work very well (if at all).

user1434
05-01-2011, 04:37 PM
Thanks, x2495iiii. Would you mind trying quickly? I tried something similar, but have no experience with this, so could easily be making a mistake.

I'm looking at 10's of hours of rework at this point, so would really appreciate your help

aikmin
05-03-2011, 05:23 AM
Please check your NoCheck method in the attached file. The attached file is zip file, so you will have to extract your .a2w file from it.

TauTrumpsPi
05-20-2011, 10:11 AM
I'm having as similar problem with one of my current worlds, a random number generator for different sided dice. Can anyone help?
I've attached the file and here's the code:

Unable to load world




Alice version: 2.0 04/05/2005

os.name: Windows XP

os.version: 5.1

os.arch: x86

java.vm.name: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM

java.vm.version: 1.3.1_10-b03

user.dir: E:\Alice stuff\Alice\New Folder\Required



Throwable that caused the error:

edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.ExceptionWrapper: ClassNotFoundException: edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.question.math.Int

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1498)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1483)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1483)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1483)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1483)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1483)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1531)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.dialog.LoadE lementProgressPane.construct(LoadElementProgressPa ne.java:36)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.progress.ProgressPane$2.run(Prog ressPane.java:82)

at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

Wrapped exception:

java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.question.math.Int

at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)

at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)

at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)

at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(Unknown Source)

at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)

at java.lang.Class.forName(Unknown Source)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1448)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1483)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1483)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1483)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1483)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1483)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1531)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.dialog.LoadE lementProgressPane.construct(LoadElementProgressPa ne.java:36)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.progress.ProgressPane$2.run(Prog ressPane.java:82)

at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)



Thank you for any help!

aikmin
05-23-2011, 08:46 AM
@TauTrumpsPi

There is nothing wrong with your file. Try downloading Alice 2.2.

arty-fishL
05-23-2011, 04:27 PM
Everybody should really read their errors, they make sense and actually help.

Observe this line:
ClassNotFoundException: edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.question.math.Int edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice - being the alice interface.
core - being core functions, responses questions etc
question - referring to questions (functions)

math.Int - referring to the int function found under world > advanced math in Alice 2.2, but not 2.0, hense the ClassNotFoundException, where the class for this function does not exist in the Java code.

Therefore, as posted above, download Alice 2.2, which actually has the int function.

reuben2011
05-23-2011, 07:18 PM
Well, most people just look at errors like those and think "oh, a wall of text." One thing to look for is "shifts" in the error throwing/catching scheme. In this case, you look at where the error goes from Alice-looking functions to pure-Java-looking functions. This helps in locating the actual problem. (I know that you know this Arty, just trying to help others out. ;))

arty-fishL
05-23-2011, 07:26 PM
Still, does math.Int along with NotFound not make enough sense? Providing you are familiar with the int function in Alice.

TauTrumpsPi
05-24-2011, 10:58 AM
Yeah, I have no experience with programming other than Alice (Though I am taking a class for C++ in June), and I therefore did just see "A wall of text". And I did just start working with int functions, so even if I did see that I wouldn't probably recognize it. Thank you!