PDA

View Full Version : Big bug I found


Lordcorvin
06-10-2011, 04:14 PM
In Alice 2.2 when you move objects in the folder you can't use variables in an if/else statement

It better get fixed in Alice 3

beachbum111111
06-10-2011, 05:29 PM
They always update alice 2.2

Lordcorvin
06-10-2011, 11:54 PM
Then I should wait until they find the post?

MrMoke
06-21-2011, 08:32 AM
In Alice 2.2 when you move objects in the folder you can't use variables in an if/else statement

It better get fixed in Alice 3

What exactly do you mean when you move objects in the folder? What objects? What folder? Why are you moving objects?

Lordcorvin
06-21-2011, 08:19 PM
In alice there is hierarchy window showing all objects in your world

You can create folders to make your hierarchy window more organised

Problem: If you have a variable in your object, the object is in the folder you can't compare variables in the if stament

If (variable == 5)
Do something
Else
Do nothing

MrMoke
06-22-2011, 09:56 AM
The problem may lie in the fact that the search algorithms for the various Alice Drag 'n Drop features don't always work the same.
An example of proper functionality would be the "(what) as a string" function. It includes the groups as part of it's search of the Object Tree, while commands like if/else may not.

An easy fix for this is to do all of the coding before you compress a myriad of objects into a new group. If, later, you need to add code for a specific object, remove it from the group, make the changes, and put it back.
Doing so will not break the code, nor lose the linkages.:cool:

Lordcorvin
06-22-2011, 07:06 PM
Yeah I already figured it out but thanks anyway