PDA

View Full Version : Drop-Down Menus


Nitrous3
10-23-2011, 03:08 AM
I'm using a Mac and whenever I right click an object within the tree on the top left to use methods such as accurately measured turning or moving objects, the options that drop down appear behind the screen presenting the world, making this a very irritating method.

If my description doesn't seem too clear, then I can take a screenshot if necessary.

x2495iiii
10-23-2011, 09:06 AM
No, this is just a problem that pops up from time to time. Not sure what causes it, but refreshing the render window sometimes works. Try:

-re-sizing the Alice window
-re-sizing the render window by dragging the blue bars next to it
-changing the renderer used in the Edit>Preferences window
-closing and re-opening Alice
-And if none of that works, delete and re-install Alice

Bit of fair warning: Alice is only "sorta" supported for the Mac. If you need to use Alice for a class, I strongly recommend using a PC for the assignments, as it is far less buggy on the PC.

room14
10-23-2011, 08:36 PM
I have this problem too, though mostly i am able to work around it.

aikmin
10-28-2011, 12:12 AM
Download the latest Alice 2.2 from www.alice.org

x2495iiii
10-28-2011, 02:45 AM
Wow. I didn't know that was a thing. Thanks aikmin.

If that works, I'm sticking this thread.

room14
10-28-2011, 03:59 AM
Ima try it.

room14
11-03-2011, 04:17 AM
can't find it.

mikeru
11-19-2011, 04:31 AM
I've tested it, and it does work.

In Mac, the required/lib folder is inside the app bundle. Go to /Applications, right-click Alice 2.2b, click Show Package Contents, open the Contents folder, and you'll find the required dir there (it might be inside the MacOS one - I've already turned off my iMac I'm just telling you from memory)

room14
01-18-2012, 04:24 PM
Check in the version history section for the link to the new alice.jar. This new jar file works for PC and MAC. Other download links on the page are for the August 5th version and they do not have all the bug fixes.

http://www.cs.purdue.edu/homes/aik_min/
or
http://www.cs.purdue.edu/homes/aik_min/alice.jar

Replace your old alice.jar (C:\ ... \Alice 2.2\Required\lib) file with this new download.

I get a 404 now.

arty-fishL
01-18-2012, 07:59 PM
Check out the latest version of Alice (December 1st 2011), it has a bunch of fixes and improvements, one of them being the bug described here I think.

I think the version that was in the link - that now returns 404 - has officially gone live, so the old link was removed.