PDA

View Full Version : minecraft in alice?


bigant
02-02-2012, 12:49 PM
anyone ever make a full pledged minecraft game? if not, I challenge you.

I havent been one here for months, wow.

TauTrumpsPi
02-02-2012, 01:53 PM
That would be ridiculously hard, and even if one could, it would be insanely laggy on even the fastest of computers.

x2495iiii
02-02-2012, 04:50 PM
You'd have to go small scale, too small to have any real fun or freedom compared to the real thing.

But it could probably be done.

Mr Kidnapper
02-02-2012, 05:30 PM
I find problem in that Minecraft is generated. As in the worlds are technically infinitely expansive. Meaning we'd need cloning. Scratch that. Cloning is not what they do. We need instancing. Instancing (Something that Alice doesn't know how to do) is where you take a place in memory, have it "Exist", and point all necessary data to the original object. For example, if I wanted to instance a box five thousand times with an offset of the box's width divided by two in the X direction, I would call for a memory location and reference the data with a pointer, meaning not copy it,and change only the location of the object in the X direction by adding the width of the box divided by half, which gets multiplied by the iteration of the instance.
To put it in what at least seems like Java/psuedocode terms,

ArrayList <Boxes> box;
for (i = 0; i < 5000, i++){
box[i].add(new Box);
box[i].setXdirection = box.get(xPosition) + ((box[i].getWidth / 2) * i);
Note that this is only an example made so you could understand the idea. The code for instancing is nothing like that at all.

Now, perhaps I did not explain why we would reference/instance instead of copy/clone. A reference is a pointer. A clone is a full copy. Needless to say, a full copy would take up more space than something that would simply point to something else for its data. And what happens if we have five thousand copies of a single object, all taking up memory space? Catastrophe. Or lag. However you want to see it. Five thousand references? Well, it shouldn't be that bad. Just five thousand spots that probably only take up a few megabytes of memory if even that. The only time you would encounter lag with such referencing is if you had the camera pointing at all five thousand at once and your computer had to render them all.

jediaction
02-02-2012, 08:47 PM
Well, I attempted to make a square system for my RTS game a little while back. I did try making a minecraft game before but the variables and every combination for the cubes is just to much for Alice to handle. There are certain things that from experienced Alice users, can tell what will be possible and what will be impossible. Minecraft is more on the impossible side....at the moment that is...