PDA

View Full Version : Adding Classes on a Network


shodai
02-13-2012, 05:28 PM
I am teaching for the first time with Alice 2.2. I was wondering if there is a way to import classes into an alice world without having to save directly to one of the class folders in the program directory?

For example if I wanted to import a character from Mario Brothers or something like this.

x2495iiii
02-13-2012, 05:52 PM
Do you mean importing models and images? Or do you mean class objects (.a2c)? The first one, you can import most 3d models and images into Alice with the right processes. The second one, any .a2c object can be imported by clicking file>import, then navigating to where the class file is saved.

shodai
02-13-2012, 06:13 PM
OK. I guess that I am not entirely sure. I have been using books to learn the ins and outs, but none of them address what people seem to be able to do and my students are asking about. For example, people have recreated Halo and are able to import the characters, but I have no idea how this is done.

TauTrumpsPi
02-13-2012, 06:48 PM
Models, unless specifically made for Alice, need to be converted to .a2c or .ase so Alice can read them. So Jedi, the person who made the halo game, asked for models to be converted by other members of the community, and then he clicked file > import, and selected the model to be loaded into the world. There's a sticky on how to convert objects from google sketchup warehouse and others in the share objects section.

shodai
02-13-2012, 08:27 PM
Thanks for the direction. I will have to check it out.