PDA

View Full Version : Help with merging these worlds

Momneedshelp
03-18-2012, 08:55 AM
Hours of trying and no luck! Thanks for trying this for us, you have no idea!!!

arty-fishL
03-18-2012, 09:05 AM
Use my World Loader Tool (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6550). :D

Or if you really need to completely merge them, then I have a very advanced tutorial here (http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=7858).

Momneedshelp
03-18-2012, 09:16 AM
Your advanced tutorial is what we have been working on! What I can't figure out is once I extract the file and edit it using notepad, I can't figure out how to get the extracted file to replace the old one. I'm new to computers, and I'm assuming since you use 7zip to extract it, it's the getting the file to save over the original one I spent hours trying to figure out! Hope that makes sense. I'll try your tool, thanks!

arty-fishL
03-18-2012, 10:38 AM
Alice is useless for this sort of thing, so making it work right tends to get quite advanced.

The Tool I made would generally be the way to go as there is a video tutorial available and the tool does most of the work for you. Unfortunately it doesn't merge the worlds into one.

If this is for a school project then I would suggest not using the tool, as I created it and all the work in the worlds therefore cannot be accredited to you (or you're child, judging by your name).

To replace the file, if you are using 7zip, then just have the file ready in a folder. Open the folder in windows explorer so the file can be accessed. Have the world open in 7zip. Click and click and drag the file from the folder to the 7zip window. Drop it in and a confirmation popup should appear. Confirm it and the file should be replaced and saved.

If you would like, then I can do it all for you, but I wont without your permission.

Momneedshelp
03-18-2012, 11:29 AM