PDA

View Full Version : Error Message


acharchalis
04-17-2012, 01:06 PM
I have Alice on Macs in our computer lab. Several of them have been getting this error message (not all copied here - too long) and then they freeze up. What is this?

Alice version: 2.2 03/01/2012
os.name: Mac OS X
os.version: 10.5.8
os.arch: x86_64
java.vm.name: Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM
java.vm.version: 20.1-b02-384
user.dir: /Alice 2.2/Alice.app/Contents/Required

Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NullPointerException
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.joglre nderer.IndexedTriangleArrayProxy.render(IndexedTri angleArrayProxy.java:41)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.joglre nderer.VisualProxy.render(VisualProxy.java:118)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.joglre nderer.ContainerProxy.render(ContainerProxy.java:6 7)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.joglre nderer.TransformableProxy.render(TransformableProx y.java:43)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.joglre nderer.ContainerProxy.render(ContainerProxy.java:6 7)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.joglre nderer.TransformableProxy.render(TransformableProx y.java:43)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.joglre nderer.ContainerProxy.render(ContainerProxy.java:6 7)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.joglre nderer.CameraProxy.performClearAndRenderOffscreen( CameraProxy.java:101)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.joglre nderer.RenderTarget.performClearAndRenderOffscreen (RenderTarget.java:50)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.joglre nderer.RenderContext.display(RenderContext.java:64 )
at com.sun.opengl.impl.GLDrawableHelper.display(GLDra wableHelper.java:78)
at javax.media.opengl.GLCanvas$DisplayAction.run(GLCa nvas.java:435)
at com.sun.opengl.impl.GLDrawableHelper.invokeGL(GLDr awableHelper.java:194)
at javax.media.opengl.GLCanvas.maybeDoSingleThreadedW orkaround(GLCanvas.java:412)
at javax.media.opengl.GLCanvas.display(GLCanvas.java: 244)
at javax.media.opengl.GLCanvas.paint(GLCanvas.java:27 7)
at javax.media.opengl.GLCanvas.update(GLCanvas.java:3 54)
at sun.awt.RepaintArea.updateComponent(RepaintArea.ja va:267)
at sun.awt.RepaintArea.paint(RepaintArea.java:233)
at apple.awt.ComponentModel.handleEvent(ComponentMode l.java:263)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Component.jav a:4811)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:45 65)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.j ava:679)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$000(EventQueue.java:85)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(EventQueue.java:638)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(EventQueue.java:636)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectio nPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:87)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectio nPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:98)
at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(EventQueue.java:652)
at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(EventQueue.java:650)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectio nPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:87)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java: 649)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilter s(EventDispatchThread.java:296)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(E ventDispatchThread.java:211)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarch y(EventDispatchThread.java:201)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispa tchThread.java:196)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispa tchThread.java:188)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThre ad.java:122)
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NullPointerException
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.joglre nderer.IndexedTriangleArrayProxy.render(IndexedTri angleArrayProxy.java:41)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.joglre nderer.VisualProxy.render(VisualProxy.java:118)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.joglre nder

aikmin
04-18-2012, 05:06 AM
The libraries are for 32 bit OS and will not work on 64 bit OS without some extra settings. You will need to make your Alice run as a 32 bit app.

See link http://www.simplehelp.net/2009/09/15/how-to-run-os-x-programs-in-32-bit-mode/