PDA

View Full Version : Alice crashes every other time


zero00
05-12-2012, 09:47 AM
For some reason, the 3/01/2012 version of Alice I'm using crashes every other time I run it. :confused:

The first time I run the program, it just gives me an error and crashes. Then I have to end the process in Task Manager.
The second time, it loads up quickly and with no problems.

x2495iiii
05-12-2012, 01:34 PM
That happens to me too. Not sure why or how to fix it. Best thing I could recommend is delete and re-download Alice.

arty-fishL
05-12-2012, 07:21 PM
Bizarre. I'm using that version, but this never happens to me.

aikmin
05-19-2012, 01:10 AM
Can you post the error?

x2495iiii
05-21-2012, 12:35 PM
Alice version: 2.2 03/01/2012

os.name: Windows 7

os.version: 6.1

os.arch: x86

java.vm.name: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM

java.vm.version: 20.0-b11

user.dir: C:\Users\Paul\Downloads\Alice2.2\Required



java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: component not found in tabbed pane

at javax.swing.JTabbedPane.setSelectedComponent(JTabb edPane.java:659)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.dialog.Start UpContentPane.setTabID(StartUpContentPane.java:372 )

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.dialog.Start UpContentPane.guiInit(StartUpContentPane.java:617)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.dialog.Start UpContentPane.<init>(StartUpContentPane.java:194)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.AuthoringToo l.dialogInit(AuthoringTool.java:668)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.AuthoringToo l.<init>(AuthoringTool.java:425)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.JAlice.main( JAlice.java:158)

BrennanWaddell
05-21-2012, 01:31 PM
I get that too.

MrMoke
05-27-2012, 07:22 PM
Using Windows 7 64-bit, if that makes a difference. It leaves the splash screen on the desktop, and has to be killed with Task Manager.
:(
It doesn't happen often; usually when I'm forcing an Alice re-boot after making a change.

MrMoke
06-18-2012, 09:16 AM
Using Windows 7 64-bit, if that makes a difference. It leaves the splash screen on the desktop, and has to be killed with Task Manager.
:(


Have tried several options including moving the newest Alice 2.2 folder into the Progrm Files (x86) folder in my Windows 7 64-bit workstation. The problem is strangely repeatable.
I can start and quit Alice 2.2 3/01/2012 as many times as I want with no problem, as long as I don't do anything. However, if I load a program before quitting, Alice will crash with the mentioned error the next time I start it, and it must be killed via task Mgr.
The same error is also repeatable using slow and steady Alice 2.2.

Something done when loading an .a2w file makes the difference. The file doesn't have to be modified, nor saved. The thought occurred to me that it might be incompatibility between the newer version and older .a2w files, but creating a new world with just a bunny, saving it, quitting, and restarting Alice generated the same error.

All testing was done using original downloads with no modifications.:(

Update: Notice that Alice 2.2 required/jre folder is using jre1.6.0_25, while my system is currently running jre version 7_5.

Update 2: Tried using the current download on a classroom 64-bit CPU workstation with a 32-bit install of Windows 7. Exactly the same problem, so it is not isolated to 64-bit O/S.

aikmin
06-20-2012, 06:04 AM
The bug was caused by a failed initialization of the selected tab. The error will only occur if the "Open a world" tab was selected the last time Alice was opened. To temporary fix this problem, make sure you create a new world before you close Alice. That will then leave Alice with the "Template" tab selected before closing.

MrMoke
06-23-2012, 11:19 AM
My School district restricts Task Manager for student logins, and in some cases, teachers.
A students only recourse is to logoff and back on to clear the frozen program, which wastes time.

Will this get patched soon?

TauTrumpsPi
06-23-2012, 04:06 PM
My School district restricts Task Manager for student logins, and in some cases, teachers.
A students only recourse is to logoff and back on to clear the frozen program, which wastes time.

Will this get patched soon?

Just out of curiosity, does it restrict security options, Ctrl-Alt-Del, or does it actually restrict task manager? Because if it's just security options, you can use the Ctrl-Shift-Esc shortcut to get to task manager.

MrMoke
07-06-2012, 03:02 PM
Haven't been back to campus this summer. It would be nice, however, to have the bug fixes released before the end of July. All workstations will have a new image by then, and I will need to install the software packages that I need for my classes.

I won't install or use packages that are known to have significant bugs.

beachbum111111
07-06-2012, 03:34 PM
Maybe its because your using hotspot shield. I am and that's when I started getting the same error.

JV018
08-21-2012, 04:16 PM
My students have the issue of the program frrezing and not letting them close it. I have the same issue with task manager. WE are able to open a 2nd Alice window but would like to fix the issue of the program freezing on the students? We had the same issue with our old laptops as we do on our new laptops. We just reloaded the program today. Does anybody have any ideas on how to fix this problem?

MrMoke
08-26-2012, 03:36 PM
Thanks Don