PDA

View Full Version : I need a tree model


DensetsuNoKaboom
08-09-2012, 08:09 PM
But not just any tree model. I want a very simple tree model, small and low-poly enough for Alice to handle a very large (100-200) number of them and still stay under 20 MB, if that's even possible. I don't care if it's just a pyramid on top of a brown pole; my only requirements are that it be 3-dimensional and at least vaguely resemble a tree.

GameKid
08-10-2012, 02:20 PM
You can draw a tree in GIMP, import it as a billboard and set it to infinitely face the camera, but if it must be 3D I don't really know.
Or just make one tree and make 99 visualization objects? I don't really know how that works, but it's worth a shot.

arty-fishL
08-10-2012, 04:42 PM
Why not just use one of the trees from the built in gallery? The pine tree there is pretty low poly and tiny in file size, yet it still looks good enough.

Or just make one tree and make 99 visualization objects? I don't really know how that works, but it's worth a shot.
The list visualisations are just that, graphical representations of lists, they are nothing special.

DensetsuNoKaboom
08-10-2012, 05:22 PM
You can draw a tree in GIMP, import it as a billboard and set it to infinitely face the camera, but if it must be 3D I don't really know.
I don't feel like programming 200 objects to always face the camera, unless there's an easy way to do that.
Why not just use one of the trees from the built in gallery? The pine tree there is pretty low poly and tiny in file size, yet it still looks good enough.
I originally tried using the pine tree, but with 200 of them the world is around 45 MB.

arty-fishL
08-10-2012, 08:14 PM
How basic are you willing to go, because if you are serious about this, then I have made a tree of questionable quality, but it is only ~ 5KB. A world with 209 of these trees is 1.17 MB in size.

The attached world is just for file size reference, there is no need to download it, just the model.

DensetsuNoKaboom
08-11-2012, 01:19 PM
I think that tree will work, thanks.

arty-fishL
08-12-2012, 04:36 PM
I think that tree will work, thanks.Haha, really? If your OK with it, then I'm happy. Its just an Alice cone Glooed to an Alice tube.

GameKid
08-31-2012, 11:12 PM
I don't feel like programming 200 objects to always face the camera, unless there's an easy way to do that.



I know arty already solved this, but there is an easy way just in case you run into something like this again. Use the copy tool in the add objects screen to copy not only an object, but it's methods, variables and events. (Drag the object from the object tree to make an object-native event.)