PDA

View Full Version : Project of mine has been corrupted! Please help, due today!!


stroodle
11-16-2012, 02:53 PM
In a rush this morning I took my USB with my Alice final project (a random generation video game with levels and collision detection). Ive spent a lot of hours on this and have no previous saves of because Im a dummy and thought Alice's auto-backup would be fine. Teacher allowed me to email my game by tonight but there's no way I can re-do from scratch in time. I desperately need some help, there's just GOT to be some way to restore the file. Whenever I try to open it (and all the backups as well) I receive this message:

Unable to load world


Alice version: 2.3
os.name: Windows 7
os.version: 6.1
os.arch: x86
java.vm.name: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
java.vm.version: 20.0-b11
user.dir: G:\Alice2.3\Alice 2.3\Required

Throwable that caused the error:
edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.IllegalNameValueExcep tion: Unfortunately, something else in this world is already named "index," so you can't use that name here.
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.checkForNameC ollision(Element.java:221)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.internalSetPa rent(Element.java:680)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.insertChildAt (Element.java:1050)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.addChild(Elem ent.java:1058)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.setParent(Ele ment.java:641)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.response.LoopNInOrder .loadCompleted(LoopNInOrder.java:59)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted (Element.java:1429)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted (Element.java:1429)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted (Element.java:1429)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1559)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.dialog.LoadE lementProgressPane.construct(LoadElementProgressPa ne.java:42)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.progress.ProgressPane$2.run(Prog ressPane.java:86)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:662)

Thank you in advance I am scrambling here...

x2495iiii
11-16-2012, 03:18 PM
That error is not easily fixed.

I'd restore from a backup, if I were you.

stroodle
11-16-2012, 03:34 PM
That error is not easily fixed.

I'd restore from a backup, if I were you.

I have backups but they all produce the same error.

So are you are basically saying absolutely no chance? :( Looks like I'm getting a D in that class, my fault for not backing up on a different device. Thanks for responding as to not give me false hope.

x2495iiii
11-18-2012, 01:17 AM
If you can get your teacher to give you an extension (considering this bug is completely out of your control, its only fair), we could have the admins look at it, but the last time this happened, they weren't able to fix it.

The time before that, they were able to get it working, though.

I'll e-mail them.

x2495iiii
11-20-2012, 02:45 PM
Admins are checking it out now.

djslater107
11-23-2012, 09:18 AM
See if this file works for you... We may have had to remove some elements from the game in order to fix it...

All the best,