PDA

View Full Version : Object limit?


fourbros
02-13-2013, 09:33 PM
Is there a limit to how many objects you can put in a world. If there is, my pokemon game won't work ( so far I've used 150+ cubes for the pallet town and route 1 hit detection).

bob3584
02-13-2013, 10:45 PM
I don't know. There is probably no set limit. The only limit, in my opinion, is the amount ALICE can handle (which can change a lot with textures and high-poly models).

Mr Kidnapper
02-14-2013, 04:57 AM
There is no limit. The only limits in Alice I can think of are the ASE file format's 10,000 poly limit, and the integer limit. Not sure how Alice handles integers and floating points though.

bob3584
02-14-2013, 08:36 AM
That's what I said...

Dameria
02-25-2013, 01:57 PM
I used about 900 cube objects in my Alice Paint program. Like the others have said, there probably is no limit. The limit is on how much all of your objects make the program lag. If you use a lot of objects and see that your program is suffering, you might want to rewrite your code more efficiently, or if it's a polygon count issue you can try experimenting with turning your objects to invisible if they are very far away (adding fog would make this look smoother).

madison1
02-26-2013, 10:35 PM
Well, I turned in a project in my Alice class some time back that contained a lot of objects, and at first my professor couldn't get the file to open because it was so large...

GameKid
02-27-2013, 08:23 PM
If it doesn't work, look at the seldom used properties under the camera's properties and set the render far distance lower. That should make your pokemon game work.

fourbros
02-28-2013, 08:44 AM
Thanks for all of the advice.

bob3584
02-28-2013, 08:10 PM
No problem.

Lupine theriology
06-21-2013, 02:51 PM
I'm sdklal as u said Gamekid me it worked. Thank you GameKid

ADITYA1243
05-27-2014, 01:36 AM
Alice is best option for you. alice can manage that problem solved it.
I don`t think so there is no limit.