Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   How do I...? (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Obtaining Position (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=10465)

bullet 01-24-2014 12:04 AM

Obtaining Position
 
Is there a way to programmatically find the x, y, and z of an object?

MrMoke 01-24-2014 06:17 PM

Yes
 
1 Attachment(s)
Every object has a position() function. To use it you must first create a Position variable by clicking "create new variable" button, then click the "other option, and selecting "Position".

You can then set the variable's contents to the position of any object.

From there you can modify the "up, "right", and "forward" values of the variable.

Now you can do a moveto World on any object, and set the more/offset option to use the modified position variable.

bullet 01-24-2014 11:32 PM

I'm sorry. I didn't specify the version. I'm using Alice 3.1, but can't find how to get the position.

MrMoke 01-27-2014 06:31 PM

Oh Well
 
No way that I know of either :(


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.

Copyright ©2018, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.