Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Bugs and Troubleshooting (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Alice 3.1 - Can't rotate, translate (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=11086)

emjuarez1 03-29-2015 03:40 PM

Alice 3.1 - Can't rotate, translate
 
I have had this problem along with several of my students. Any help would be appreciated. Several times when the object is selected, the yellow rings will not highlight no matter where the cursor hovers to allow the user to rotate, translate and so on. You can do one shot procedures, but I hate to have that as an only option.

MrMoke 03-30-2015 09:11 AM

Might need more information
 
I haven't been able to replicate that problem with version 3.2.5.0.0.
Hovering over an object in either the Editing or the Coding views will not activate the rings.
You must first click on the object, and then which ever "Handle Style" was last used in the "Scene Setup" view will reappear for that object.

emjuarez1 03-31-2015 12:34 PM

Alice 3.1 - Can't rotate, translate
 
[QUOTE=MrMoke;55871]I haven't been able to replicate that problem with version 3.2.5.0.0.
Hovering over an object in either the Editing or the Coding views will not activate the rings.
You must first click on the object, and then which ever "Handle Style" was last used in the "Scene Setup" view will reappear for that object.[/QUOTE]

I get that far and the rings appear but I can not manipulate that object. I can consistently create this problem with the room template and adding an object.

MrMoke 03-31-2015 04:57 PM

There you go
 
Thanks for the feed-back. I tried the same setups with both the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Alice 3.2.5.

The 32-bit version appears to manifest this problem regardless of the Slate used, while the 64-bit version does not.

Will Report.

x2495iiii 03-31-2015 05:20 PM

Thanks for the report. I'll pass it along to the Alice Team.

emjuarez1 04-01-2015 02:29 PM

Alice 3.1 - Can't rotate, translate
 
Most of my students with 32-bit OS experience this problem regularly.
About 70% of my class that have 64-bit OS experience the problem only with the room template. For now, they are using one shot procedures. I submitted a bug report as well.

MrMoke 04-01-2015 02:39 PM

Not happening for me in 64-bit
 
Which version of Alice 3 are they using? I'm running 3.2.5.0.0, and don't see the problem.

emjuarez1 04-01-2015 07:08 PM

3.2.5

x2495iiii 04-02-2015 11:30 PM

Just FYI, the dev team has been notified.

wbarnum 06-21-2015 11:14 PM

[QUOTE=emjuarez1;55864] Several times when the object is selected, the yellow rings will not highlight no matter where the cursor hovers to allow the user to rotate, translate and so on.[/QUOTE]

I've had the same issue. I have documented it in this video:

[url]http://youtu.be/5KSNh-D3r-4[/url]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.

Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.