Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   How do I...? (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   make a list (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3443)

Dak393 11-22-2009 06:01 PM

make a list
 
I'm trying to make a list containing a samurai on a horse the samurai's vehicle is set to the hoarse and when I try to select either the samurai or the horse for the list it doesn't let me.

x2495iiii 11-22-2009 06:14 PM

Do you mean the list isn't accepting the addition of ANY new objects, or just those two? To add an object to a list, click the lists's initial value, then click add new item in the wondiw which pops up, then click the <none> value to open a dropdown menu and select the object you want in that spot on the list.

Dak393 11-22-2009 06:18 PM

when I select those two it wont allow me to add them as a new object in the window. I selected the spear that the samurai is holding and it will let me use that but both the samurai and the horse are vehicles so I am assuming its not working because of that is there a way to get around this?

x2495iiii 11-22-2009 06:59 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Not sure what the porblem is. Here's MY list:

jediaction 11-24-2009 02:03 PM

What are lists really

x2495iiii 11-24-2009 02:24 PM

Lists are sets of things (I say things because they can be composed of almost anything): variables, colors, directions, objects, and the options go on. These things are stored, like variables, to your computer as part of your program. The difference is that each thing in the list now has an individual number called an index which is based off of it's position in the list and which can be used to call that value when referencing things in the list (like saying "4th item from treelist turn yellow").

jediaction 11-24-2009 03:10 PM

Ok, thanks

Akusai 11-25-2009 11:15 AM

I think your problem is the fact that lists won't accept compound objects, or objects in groups, so if you really want to do it, your would have to drag all of the parts of the samurai and the horse out of the samurai and horse, then add them to the list, and move them back. It's much easier with compound objects to just do if/else statements.

Dak393 11-27-2009 05:54 PM

[QUOTE=Akusai;13628]I think your problem is the fact that lists won't accept compound objects, or objects in groups, so if you really want to do it, your would have to drag all of the parts of the samurai and the horse out of the samurai and horse, then add them to the list, and move them back. It's much easier with compound objects to just do if/else statements.[/QUOTE]

I'm not quite sure what you mean by this. I was trying to make a list with an army of mounted samurai (or just samurai) that I could make go across the screen with for all together command.

x2495iiii 11-27-2009 07:58 PM

There's really no reason this isn't possible for you. You SHOULD be able to put ANY object into a list, then reference it with a for all together command, regardless of vehicles, subparts, or any other object property (except maybe eventsStopAscending or one of the other mysterious Seldom Used Properties).

Dak393 11-28-2009 02:03 PM

[QUOTE=x2495iiii;13690]There's really no reason this isn't possible for you. You SHOULD be able to put ANY object into a list, then reference it with a for all together command, regardless of vehicles, subparts, or any other object property (except maybe eventsStopAscending or one of the other mysterious Seldom Used Properties).[/QUOTE]

Well the only thing I can think of now is a bug in the alice 2.0.7 application for mac I know there are some other major bugs in the mac version maybe this is just one more. (opacity, lists?, fps controls....) I should upgrade to 2.2 but I think I couldn't for some reason I'll try again

Akusai 11-28-2009 08:29 PM

I've only worked on macs, and with the macs (In both 2.0 and 2.2) I haven't been able to add a compound object, or an object in a group to a list, in fact, when I made my Katamari Damasi world, I had to drag all 50+ objects in the different groups before adding them to the list. So if it is a bug, it's on both 2.2 and 2.0 Mac versions, I haven't dona any programming on windows because my computer is horribly slow.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.

Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.