Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   How do I...? (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   How do I make get the perfect bug in ALICE? (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3676)

rootbeerman77 12-20-2009 03:52 AM

How do I make get the perfect bug in ALICE?
 
Ok so for one of my classes, I want my ALICE animation to end with a fatal bug error report and close the animation. I DO NOT WANT THE BUG TO CLOSE ALICE, JUST THE ANIMATION. Is there a way to program a perfect bug into my program (it can seriously be ANYTHING, even if it's as specific as one 3d figure doing one specific action during one specific circumstance.)

For Instance: when you enlarge Zeus, and have him do a lightning bolt pose, ALICE doesnt know what to do and bugs, but it doesnt exit the program. That would work great but it doesnt quit the animation

Thanks for all your help,
Rootbeerman

x2495iiii 12-20-2009 01:34 PM

Supposedly dividing by zero can do that. Give that a shot.

Dameria 12-20-2009 01:46 PM

You would have to do "Move ground forward (1/0) meters"

When you do 1 meter at first, you just click the arrow next to the 1 and go to Math and do 1/ and then choose 0.

Make that string of code go right after when you want the world to end, if you want you can have a 3d Text say "The End" and then wait 2 seconds, then do the bug.

Dameria 12-20-2009 02:06 PM

Oh and x2495iiii congratulations on your 1,000th post!!! This is a big day in Alice forums history (I guess) :D

x2495iiii 12-20-2009 02:27 PM

Thanks. I guess it kinda is, since the only other guy I know of with 1k+ posts DrJim.

rootbeerman77 12-20-2009 06:59 PM

Awesome, thanks, both of you

i'm pretty new to ALICE, so that was a great help

zarfang8 12-20-2009 07:02 PM

Wow, Thats pretty cool, I didn't know that either.
The only bug I know is telling Nothing to do something. But then It brings up the method.

Hey, What did you mean by a fatal error?

Dameria 12-20-2009 07:07 PM

I think a fatal error is an error that either loops infinitely, not letting you quit out of Alice without shutting it down via Task Manager, or an error that has to close down Alice.

reuben2011 12-21-2009 02:55 PM

I've had alot of problems trying to force Alice to shut down when there was an error.

Chris101b 12-22-2009 08:33 PM

[QUOTE=zarfang8;14966]Wow, Thats pretty cool, I didn't know that either.
The only bug I know is telling Nothing to do something. But then It brings up the method.

Hey, What did you mean by a fatal error?[/QUOTE]

It is when something in a program goes totally nuts and tries to attack you. Dividing by zero can do this. I heard that Cyberdyne divided by zero once. Not sure what happened though, but I heard that they made a movie about it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.

Copyright ©2018, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.