Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Bugs and Troubleshooting (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Can't Open Alice World - "IllegalNameValueException" (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=7682)

Habstinat 11-29-2011 08:31 AM

Can't Open Alice World - "IllegalNameValueException"
 
1 Attachment(s)
Here is the error in question, which I recieve after attempting to open the world:
[CODE]Unable to load world




Alice version: 2.2 09/10/2010



Throwable that caused the error:

edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.IllegalNameValueException: Unfortunately, something else in this world is already named "index," so you can't use that name here.

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.checkForNameCollision(Element.java:218)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.internalSetParent(Element.java:677)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.insertChildAt(Element.java:1047)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.addChild(Element.java:1055)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.setParent(Element.java:638)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.response.LoopNInOrder.loadCompleted(LoopNInOrder.java:59)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element.java:1551)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.dialog.LoadElementProgressPane.construct(LoadElementProgressPane.java:37)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.progress.ProgressPane$2.run(ProgressPane.java:84)

at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
[/CODE]

The world is fairly simple and seemed to have saved without error the last time I opened it. The world file is attatched to this post. Any ideas as to why this is happening or what I could do to fix this? Thanks in advance for any help.

x2495iiii 11-29-2011 09:56 AM

The file has likely been corrupted. I can't fix it, Dennis might be able to, though.

If possible, I recommend you restart from a backup.

Mr Kidnapper 12-01-2011 02:13 AM

1 Attachment(s)
The error is caused by a faulty method. We need to remove it and edit the elementData.xmls to appropriate that removal.
It's usually the last method you worked with.
Done. An error will pop up when you first load it. When it says to "Set all values to none," just press Yes to proceed. It doesn't matter.

arty-fishL 12-01-2011 03:28 AM

[QUOTE=Mr Kidnapper;44059]The error is caused by a faulty method. We need to remove it and edit the elementData.xmls to appropriate that removal.
It's usually the last method you worked with.
Done. An error will pop up when you first load it. When it says to "Set all values to none," just press Yes to proceed. It doesn't matter.[/QUOTE]Cool, so you know how to fix things like this? Well done [IMG]http://www.alice.org/community/images/icons/icon14.gif[/IMG].

Mr Kidnapper 12-01-2011 11:10 AM

I learned how when I had to use hax to add spotlights to my VTOL. I'm probably going to add them to the B17 as well.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.

Copyright ©2018, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.