Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Announcements > Community News and Announcements

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Alice 3 is now in public beta
Old
gabe
Administrator
 
gabe's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 461
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Default Alice 3 is now in public beta - 06-01-2009, 11:09 AM

You can download it here:

http://alice.org/3

It's still in heavy development, so please embrace it as a work-in-progress.

**6/10/09**
We currently have builds up for Mac OS X 10.5+ and Windows (32 bit). We are working on a version for Linux and 64 bit Windows.

Also, the NetBeans plugin is now available for download. This will let you import your Alice 3 worlds into the NetBeans IDE for editing and playback.
   
Reply With Quote
I dont like it
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Unhappy I dont like it - 06-01-2009, 04:07 PM

I was good at programming in Alice 2, but Alice 3 is totally different. I don't understand the words, can't make anything work, and keep getting rendering errors when I try to do some things. How do you add events? what do the words used mean? I can't make the objects do as much, as there doesn't seem to be as many methods/procedures. I managed to work out how to move objects properly (using 1,2,3 and 4 buttons on keyboard), but it wasn't obvious. I can't find as much information on the objects as before, under properties, and if I try to change some of them I get a red preview screen saying "error in attempting to render screen". I don't know how to add variables or parameters, either in the single methods/procedures, or globally. I can select parts of objects to do procedures, but it is hard to find them and they are orginised into short names that make no sense. I much prefer Alice 2.2! There is no help as of yet!
On the other hand; Alice 3 looks much cleaner, plays much cleaner, works smoother and looks good with Sims 2 technology integrated, but the character movement list is very long, but I can't specify exactly what I want my person to do.
It seems quite complicated and I know nothing about Java code, I can only use Alice code. I have a whole new language to learn, just to use this program

Last edited by arty-fishL; 06-01-2009 at 04:10 PM. Reason: I wrote it wrong
   
Reply With Quote
Not Ready for Prime Time
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Not Ready for Prime Time - 06-01-2009, 06:39 PM

Yeah, at some point you will probably have to start learning Java and OOP terminology.

This Beta, however, is not something I would want to start using in the classroom any time soon. I was hoping for a switch to 3.0 by next Fall, but I don't see that happening.

A simple manual might be helpful. I figured out where most of the stuff lives, but I may have missed a few things.

Some Things like: If you create a custom character that can do all the neat preprogrammed things, how do you teach it to do something it can't, like walk?

Also, I loaded it on a Vista machine. It was extremely crash-prone; I couldn't get anything done. Will try to follow-up with Windows XP testing this summer, but?

Last edited by MrMoke; 06-02-2009 at 10:32 AM. Reason: Update
   
Reply With Quote
doudou likes it
Old
doudou
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default doudou likes it - 06-02-2009, 09:30 AM

There are a lot of full body outfit
   
Reply With Quote
Old
HisWorld
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 06-02-2009, 11:57 AM

This is great, I'm guessing the release follows the backup plan if a final version could not be completed by this summer. I had the original beta version released in Feb. but ran into multiple error's on any and ever action.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DrJim
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 06-02-2009, 12:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMoke View Post
This Beta, however, is not something I would want to start using in the classroom any time soon.

Also, I loaded it on a Vista machine. It was extremely crash-prone; I couldn't get anything done. Will try to follow-up with Windows XP testing this summer, but?
After my problems with 2.2, I didn't even bother to try with Vista - just went directly to my XP machine. It loaded relatively smoothly and has been relatively bug free so far. (It is still obviously Beta software.)

As far as classroom use goes - don't want to really comment in any detail since I'm not a teacher, but I would be interested in other opinions. I note that the current summer workshops are specifically covering Alice 2.2 and 3.0.

Based on a first look, it appears that some of the "easy" things you can do in 2.x are going to require a bit higher understanding of Java in 3.0. Not a bad thing for CS majors (to claim 2.0 is a really good way to teach OOP has always seemed a bit of a stretch) - but that might also be a bit of a "turn off" for an introductory course.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Phanatic
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 06-03-2009, 08:01 PM

this is very very different, its def smoother but i have no idea whats going on
   
Reply With Quote
NetBeans Plugin For Alice 3.0 Beta
Old
lanceA
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default NetBeans Plugin For Alice 3.0 Beta - 06-04-2009, 12:29 PM

Where do you get the plug-in module allowing NetBeans to edit Alice worlds? Dennis mentions it in his Alice Screencast.

I've been on NetBeans.org site and Sun's site and I am unable to locate it. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Last edited by lanceA; 06-04-2009 at 04:49 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
gabe
Administrator
 
gabe's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 461
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Default 06-05-2009, 12:39 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJim View Post
After my problems with 2.2, I didn't even bother to try with Vista - just went directly to my XP machine. It loaded relatively smoothly and has been relatively bug free so far. (It is still obviously Beta software.)

As far as classroom use goes - don't want to really comment in any detail since I'm not a teacher, but I would be interested in other opinions. I note that the current summer workshops are specifically covering Alice 2.2 and 3.0.

Based on a first look, it appears that some of the "easy" things you can do in 2.x are going to require a bit higher understanding of Java in 3.0. Not a bad thing for CS majors (to claim 2.0 is a really good way to teach OOP has always seemed a bit of a stretch) - but that might also be a bit of a "turn off" for an introductory course.
Alice 3 is object oriented, so some things are going to be a bit more difficult than the instance-based Alice 2. However, this will make the transition to an object oriented language like Java a lot smoother. It's impossible to make everyone happy, but I think most intro CS instructors will embrace this and it will hopefully bring in some new converts.

Alice 2 and 2.2 will continue to be available on our website, but we are moving full steam ahead with Alice 3.
   
Reply With Quote
Alice 3 Beta - how does it start ??
Old
vazin
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Alice 3 Beta - how does it start ?? - 07-27-2009, 01:25 PM

I downloaded the 525 MB file onto my Windows Vista. I then did an "install".
Everythign went fine.

But how do I start the program ? I dont see any startup file opn windows nor any application file.

I see the following doirectory under "Program Files"
  • Alice3 -->Application, ext,gallery,jre5017,lib
  • Alice99Plugin-->lib,objects,plugin,setup,sounds,system

Any help appreciated, how to start the Alice 3 Program


Regards
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.