Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 06-09-2010, 01:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
Dameria, check around where you kept your model and see if there's a folder of the same name as the .skp file. Inside it should be any textures the model had.
I already said that there is only the filename for the actual object, no other filename for any textures at all. When I asked you to convert the DNA for me for my project, how did you do it? When you changed it from .skb into .dae, did it load with the texture onto Blender? When I do this it does not load with the texture, the texture for some reason disappears and it becomes a grey model.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 06-10-2010, 12:47 AM

The DNA model had no textures. It was colored in Sketchup and the colors imported along with the model.

If the textures didn't import and they're not in the folder, then you'll need to convert the model into a .dae file in Sketchup to get the texture folder to be created.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 06-10-2010, 03:10 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
The DNA model had no textures. It was colored in Sketchup and the colors imported along with the model.

If the textures didn't import and they're not in the folder, then you'll need to convert the model into a .dae file in Sketchup to get the texture folder to be created.
How do I get other models that are colored in sketchup to export with the colors into a different type? When I exported that DNA model, it was grey with no colors when I opened it up in Blender. Is it my version of sketchup? Do I need a new version?


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
King Gamer(gorit)
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 06-10-2010, 06:56 PM

DAMERIA, I have been saying export directley to a .ase for months now. Must no one listen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 06-10-2010, 07:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by King Gamer(gorit) View Post
DAMERIA, I have been saying export directley to a .ase for months now. Must no one listen.
I know, I did export directly to .ase, but the problem is that there is no texture/color on the model when I export it, and I want to know why.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
King Gamer(gorit)
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 06-10-2010, 10:15 PM

It is because .ase do not export textures. It just exports the uv mapping coordanites. So you need to divide the model into subparts so it can be textured in alice.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 06-11-2010, 05:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by King Gamer(gorit) View Post
It is because .ase do not export textures. It just exports the uv mapping coordanites. So you need to divide the model into subparts so it can be textured in alice.
Ok, how do you subpart items on Sketchup? I know that doing "explode" makes the object go down to a lot of different subparts, but for some reason it does not export the same subparts, when exporting it creates its own subparts. Also, how would I add the textures when I create the subparts


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
classes, create, objects

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.