Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Character select
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,187
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default Character select - 06-08-2010, 07:58 PM

I was trying to make a character select for this game. This would not only enable choosing whether Mana or Alice is your character, but it would also be a major step towards having multiple playable characters. The problem? I can't do it. I tried making exact copies of all of Alice's methods with copies of the character and rabbit replacing the originals and makng it so that when the game starts it asks you if you want to be Mana or Alice, but I tested it and an unknown error occured. (Darn these unknown errors...) Can someone help?


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 06-08-2010, 08:41 PM

Just add a world object variable called "character" and in the beginning of the world, depending on which person you choose, set the character variable to that person. Then, for every place where you do an action with that character, instead of using a specific object like Mana, instead drag the world variable "character" inside there and it will control whatever object that you selected for the character.

Tell me if it works or if you need an example.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 06-08-2010, 10:54 PM

For animations, don't use poses (they're object specific, so you'd need an if/else if nest thingy to get it right), instead use subpart movement methods which use the partnamed function.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,187
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 06-19-2010, 07:21 PM

[n00bymoment]Yayz, I has finally made the character selection! ^_^ Thank you gaiz :DDDD[/n00bymoment]


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.

Last edited by DensetsuNoKaboom; 06-19-2010 at 07:54 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
zonedabone
Senior Member
 
zonedabone's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 578
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: In the interwebs
Default 06-19-2010, 07:44 PM

great!

˙ooʇ 'uʍop ǝpısdn ǝʇıɹʍ uɐɔ ı 'ʎɐʍ ǝɥʇ ʎq


'Apple Macintosh' - An anagram of 'Complaints Heap'

M.A.C.I.N.T.O.S.H. - Machine Always Crashes, If Not, The Operating System Hangs.

You're *such* a mac person.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
character, error, fighter, game, select

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.