Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How do I add a "Stop" command to the cancel button?
Old
tlm4rdh
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default How do I add a "Stop" command to the cancel button? - 10-31-2009, 07:17 AM

I have created a loop in a world that makes an object jump and spin based on "ask a question." The user enters a number of times they want the object to jump and spin. When I click the cancel button I get an error. How can I add a function to "STOP" the program without an error?
Please help
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 10-31-2009, 01:21 PM

I couldn't find a way around this error message, since Alice won't allow number variable to be set to none and there's no way to put a preset value inside the textbox, so you'll just have to put some kind of "DO NOT click cancel" warning in your prompt. Sorry, man.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
xxledzeppelin2x3
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-31-2009, 01:27 PM

ohhh im sorry haha i read your question wrong and that was probably the most ridiculous answer i have ever given lmao, sorry mate! i made a demo and everything for what i thought your problem was but i was in a hurry so i skimmed over the question thats why i didnt understand.... hehe
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 10-31-2009, 05:38 PM

Ok this is weird. My copy of Alice 2.2 strated generating errors every time I minimized it, right (never happened before), so I deleted and re-downloaded Alice 2.2 to find that it's been updated. The old version that I had this morning set the number variable to <None> when you clicked cancel, but the new one sets it to 0! I posted the world I used to test it, but really, that's something I never knew about Alice 2.2!

Yet another reason to like 2.2 over 2.0, though...heheh.
Attached Files
File Type: a2w youCanCancel.a2w (217.6 KB, 18 views)


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
xxledzeppelin2x3
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-31-2009, 09:10 PM

haha that is my theory! but its good you found a solution!
   
Reply With Quote
Your suggestion helped.
Old
tlm4rdh
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Your suggestion helped. - 11-03-2009, 11:42 AM

Thanks X2495iiii - your suggestion helped. I upgraded to 2.2 and the error message went away. Now if I could just figure out the rest of my issues in Alice I would be doing good. I guess it just takes a lot of practice.

Thanks again!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
honcchan
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 06-28-2010, 10:34 PM

solution found
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.