Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How can I use the timer function. I want to record time elapsed.
Old
littleti
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default How can I use the timer function. I want to record time elapsed. - 04-02-2011, 06:10 PM

I haven't found any tutorials or advice on making a clock for telling how much time has elapsed. I do not have the Dunn, et al text, pp. 252-257, could somebody just type up a quick answer? Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
nickster654
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 180
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: nickster12345678@gmail.com
Default 04-03-2011, 03:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by littleti View Post
I haven't found any tutorials or advice on making a clock for telling how much time has elapsed. I do not have the Dunn, et al text, pp. 252-257, could somebody just type up a quick answer? Thanks!
orrrr you could make a number variable
make it increment by 1 duration 1 second
and put it in a loop infinitely at the beginning of your animation
   
Reply With Quote
Old
reuben2011
Senior Member
 
reuben2011's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 489
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hawaii
Default 04-03-2011, 03:36 PM

There is also the "time elapsed" function in the world's function's tab. Let us know if you help using it.


Projects
-Escape the Kitchen
-That ninja animation
-Hill Collision

Upcoming Projects
-Some penguin adventure game?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
littleti
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 04-03-2011, 04:50 PM

Thanks for your replies. I will try nickster's Idea, but I my main question, since I found the time elapsed button is, how does that thing work??? I couldn't figure it out. Has Alice thought about how they do it on Scratch, where you can right click on any of the code blocks and it will give you a pop-up quick explanation of how it's used? That would make a lot of these tutorials unnecessary. Just a thought! -t
   
Reply With Quote
Old
reuben2011
Senior Member
 
reuben2011's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 489
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hawaii
Default 04-03-2011, 04:57 PM

The time elasped doesn't restart every time you open the world. It's kind of weird. You need to create an offset variable, set it equal to the time elasped at eh beginning of the program, and use (time elapsed - offset) to get the true time that has elasped.


Projects
-Escape the Kitchen
-That ninja animation
-Hill Collision

Upcoming Projects
-Some penguin adventure game?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.