Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
"Unable to Load World!" Who helps me plz :((
Old
ptc1760
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vietnam
Angry "Unable to Load World!" Who helps me plz :(( - 12-03-2011, 10:45 PM

My presentation is coming ahead next week,
And few days ago I opened the final project that I had done one day before, and it appears that error ( I dont understand at all what happed with my project and my Alice program.
can anyone help me fix this problem plz? Thank so much!

This is the error message:

Code:
Unable to load world




Alice version: 2.2  08/05/2011



Throwable that caused the error:

java.lang.NullPointerException

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.geometry.Text3D.updateExtrusion(Text3D.java:87)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.geometry.Text3D.propertyChanged(Text3D.java:77)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.propertyChanged(Element.java:265)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Property.onChanged(Property.java:423)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Property.onSet(Property.java:438)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Property.set(Property.java:455)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Property.decodeObject(Property.java:626)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Property.decode(Property.java:641)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element.java:1460)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element.java:1477)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element.java:1477)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element.java:1525)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.dialog.LoadElementProgressPane.construct(LoadElementProgressPane.java:37)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.progress.ProgressPane$2.run(ProgressPane.java:84)

	at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:662)
Attached Files
File Type: zip test2.zip (616.3 KB, 3 views)
File Type: a2c TwotoneDeagle.a2c (505.2 KB, 6 views)

Last edited by x2495iiii; 02-13-2012 at 06:49 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-04-2011, 05:09 PM

I'm sorry, but I can't fix it. It looks like one of the 3d text objects is not loading properly, but I don't know how to repair or remove the object outside of Alice.

Dennis Cosgrove might, though.

I e-mailed him with your world, I'll let you know if/when he responds.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
ptc1760
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vietnam
Default 12-04-2011, 07:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
I'm sorry, but I can't fix it. It looks like one of the 3d text objects is not loading properly, but I don't know how to repair or remove the object outside of Alice.

Dennis Cosgrove might, though.

I e-mailed him with your world, I'll let you know if/when he responds.
Thank u very much for your care!
It seems like that all a2w files are zipped files. but when i extracted, editted with notepad, and then zipped it again, it didn't work anymore
I also opened it with Netbeans, but the program didnt allow me to change anything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 12-04-2011, 08:19 PM

Fixed. When it asks you to "Set all values to none", just press yes. By the way, I removed your objects "replayString" and "noticeString." It seems they were causing an error in conjunction.
Attached Files
File Type: a2w test2.a2w (1.11 MB, 7 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
ptc1760
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vietnam
Default 12-04-2011, 09:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Kidnapper View Post
Fixed. When it asks you to "Set all values to none", just press yes. By the way, I removed your objects "replayString" and "noticeString." It seems they were causing an error in conjunction.
so wonderful, bro! thank a lot!
if u were here, we would go for some coffee immediately!
see u around!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-05-2011, 02:47 PM

Ha. Dennis just responded with his own fixed copy.

Good job, Mr. Kidnapper.

For any future posters, blank text in 3d text objects causes Alice worlds to not load properly. Always keep placeholder text in the text property to avoid this.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
waqar
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 51
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pakistan
Default 12-06-2011, 04:25 AM

some times alice dont give that option "Set all values to none"
if it doesnot give this option is there anyother way to do it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
ptc1760
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vietnam
Default 12-06-2011, 09:42 PM

You can open all a2w files with Winrar, then extract files inside which need editing (it's often elementData.xml), then edit with a text editor, finally drag and drop the files back to the winrar's windows, save changes.

By this way, u can change the initial value of variables and avoid the error message

Last edited by ptc1760; 12-06-2011 at 09:44 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.