Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > The Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Making a 24/7 minecraft server using dropbox?
Old
beachbum111111
Senior Member
 
beachbum111111's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: under your bed
Default Making a 24/7 minecraft server using dropbox? - 04-22-2012, 06:44 PM

I was wondering if you can use dropbox to make a 24/7 minecraft server. Does anyone know?


"Don't lead me into temptation I can find it myself"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 04-22-2012, 07:50 PM

Do you not need the server to be running?
ie actually have executable code using system resources.
Dropbox is just a file hosting service, with a client side UI, so any code you run from your dropbox only runs on your machine.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
beachbum111111
Senior Member
 
beachbum111111's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: under your bed
Default 04-22-2012, 08:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
Do you not need the server to be running?
ie actually have executable code using system resources.
Dropbox is just a file hosting service, with a client side UI, so any code you run from your dropbox only runs on your machine.
I want it so that the server is up when my computer is off.


"Don't lead me into temptation I can find it myself"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
room14
Senior Member
 
room14's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Default 04-23-2012, 12:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by beachbum111111 View Post
I want it so that the server is up when my computer is off.
you need to buy one...
at least you can port forward...
I totally failed at that.


:D
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.