Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > The Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,875
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 05-06-2012, 02:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by zero00 View Post
When do you think you will be able to release this as an addon for Alice?
I don't think it would work as an addon, but it would work well as a tool (like my save tool etc). I'm supposed to be busy right now, but I could technically release it quite soon.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
to reiterate...
Old
atrane365
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default to reiterate... - 05-07-2012, 10:25 AM

I can set a limit on the loop, and i might be able to use it in a tower defense game, to create towers and enemies from 1?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,875
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 05-07-2012, 12:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by atrane365 View Post
I can set a limit on the loop, and i might be able to use it in a tower defense game, to create towers and enemies from 1?
Was that a question or a statement?


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
atrane365
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 05-08-2012, 09:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
Was that a question or a statement?
yes
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,875
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 05-08-2012, 01:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by atrane365 View Post
yes
...


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 05-08-2012, 02:57 PM

Hehe.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
atrane365
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Wink 05-09-2012, 10:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
...
exactly
   
Reply With Quote
explanation
Old
atrane365
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default explanation - 05-09-2012, 10:32 AM

I can set a limit on the loop, and i might be able to use it in a tower defense game, to create towers and enemies from 1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
Was that a question or a statement?
what i meant was, if i have one tower (object) or one enemy (object), I could possibly use this code, limit the loop, and make more to use without cluttering up my program by separately coding all towers. Is it possible, without my program crashing?
different question: do the created items inherit the code from the original object?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,875
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 05-09-2012, 10:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by atrane365 View Post
what i meant was, if i have one tower (object) or one enemy (object), I could possibly use this code, limit the loop, and make more to use without cluttering up my program by separately coding all towers. Is it possible, without my program crashing?
different question: do the created items inherit the code from the original object?
Yes you could. It is possible, theoretically, I haven't tried it out myself, but the cloned items do inherit everything the original items had.
I created 5000 clones and my computer didn't crash (it took a while, and - granted - I do have a gaming PC, but I'm sure your not wanting to create anything near to that many).


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
atrane365
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 05-11-2012, 10:11 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
but I'm sure your not wanting to create anything near to that many.
nope. Here's my idea: you have 1 or 2 towers (units, defenders, etc.) that are out of the way, and cannot shoot at the enemies. I set a (time) limit on the loop, so you can only place new towers every so often.
It would be the same with the enemies. one enemy would be out of range of the towers, and of course out of sight of the player, and would loop and create more enemies with the same health and movement patterns.
which brings another question: how would i code just the copies of the enemy to move? I dont want the spawner, as i will call it, to move along the track and be destroyed.
(fyi, if you quote this, dont quote the whole thing)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clone, copy, creation, object, runtime

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.