Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Share Objects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
great sketchup exporter for alice
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default great sketchup exporter for alice - 01-23-2010, 08:04 PM

Ive just found a very good ruby script plugin for google sketchup which allows direct ase export for importing into Alice. Unfortunately it cannot export textures.

1: Download and install plugin attached below (Source website).

2: Open google sketchup.

3: Make or open or download your model.

4: DO NOT ADD TEXTURES.

5: Alice hides faces when the reverse is facing the camera, so for all faces that you want shown that are currently light blue (default style) right click and select reverse face, this will make them switch around so the other side of them is now hidden.

6: For faces that you want both sides showing just make duplicate faces both facing outward close together.

7: Either select nothing if you want to export all or select the component/group you wish to export only.

8: Select SU2ASE4UT exporter, then export from the plugins menu.

9: Wait until the popup reads that its done.

10: Locate and import it into Alice.

11: Colour and texture as appropriate.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Alice sketchup exporters.zip (11.3 KB, 104 views)


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
room14
Senior Member
 
room14's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Default 01-22-2012, 04:45 PM

I know this is very old, but does it still work on sketch up 8? and does it work on a mac?

edit never mind, it still works.


:D

Last edited by room14; 01-22-2012 at 04:54 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 01-22-2012, 05:19 PM

Yeh it still works, but back then it may have be "great", now - with the new better methods around - it is OK, that is all.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
dakota95
Senior Member
 
dakota95's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 426
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: like I would tell you. ;)
Default 04-05-2012, 10:56 AM

Cool.

I completally missed this. But I cannot get it to work. I put everything where it said to but it didnt work.


<Insert_Signature_Here>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 04-06-2012, 08:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dakota95 View Post
Cool.

I completally missed this. But I cannot get it to work. I put everything where it said to but it didnt work.
This was a great exporter back in the days when we didn't have better conversion methods. This is rubbish now, I highly suggest using one of the conversion tutorials instead.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
dakota95
Senior Member
 
dakota95's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 426
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: like I would tell you. ;)
Default 04-06-2012, 02:47 PM

Oh. ok. I'd like to find a way to convert skp to obj cause for some reason my blender version(2.44) says that it is missing a script for importing dae into it, so I had to install Meshlabs to do that. So basicallt what I have to do now is change it to dae in sketchup, then to obj in meshlab then to ase in blender, and all this takes FOREVER.


<Insert_Signature_Here>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 04-06-2012, 03:05 PM

The newest Blender comes with a .dae importer. No need for meshlab.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Beans
Member
 
Beans's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 41
Join Date: May 2012
Default 11-12-2012, 04:44 PM

It does not work, it wont appear in the plugins menu....


Check out my Weeping Angels and Zombie game!
Dont forget to vote if I should make more Doctor Who stuff and Doctor Who game!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 11-13-2012, 05:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beans View Post
It does not work, it wont appear in the plugins menu....
This is old, so it probably doesn't work now. It was great at the time I discovered it, but it exports without textures and not always correctly; there are better methods now and various tutorials.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
room14
Senior Member
 
room14's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Default 11-14-2012, 12:45 AM

No it does work.


:D
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.