Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Alice 3.1 - Can't rotate, translate
Old
emjuarez1
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Exclamation Alice 3.1 - Can't rotate, translate - 03-29-2015, 03:40 PM

I have had this problem along with several of my students. Any help would be appreciated. Several times when the object is selected, the yellow rings will not highlight no matter where the cursor hovers to allow the user to rotate, translate and so on. You can do one shot procedures, but I hate to have that as an only option.

Last edited by emjuarez1; 03-29-2015 at 03:44 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Might need more information
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Might need more information - 03-30-2015, 09:11 AM

I haven't been able to replicate that problem with version 3.2.5.0.0.
Hovering over an object in either the Editing or the Coding views will not activate the rings.
You must first click on the object, and then which ever "Handle Style" was last used in the "Scene Setup" view will reappear for that object.
   
Reply With Quote
Alice 3.1 - Can't rotate, translate
Old
emjuarez1
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Default Alice 3.1 - Can't rotate, translate - 03-31-2015, 12:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMoke View Post
I haven't been able to replicate that problem with version 3.2.5.0.0.
Hovering over an object in either the Editing or the Coding views will not activate the rings.
You must first click on the object, and then which ever "Handle Style" was last used in the "Scene Setup" view will reappear for that object.
I get that far and the rings appear but I can not manipulate that object. I can consistently create this problem with the room template and adding an object.
   
Reply With Quote
There you go
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Smile There you go - 03-31-2015, 04:57 PM

Thanks for the feed-back. I tried the same setups with both the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Alice 3.2.5.

The 32-bit version appears to manifest this problem regardless of the Slate used, while the 64-bit version does not.

Will Report.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 03-31-2015, 05:20 PM

Thanks for the report. I'll pass it along to the Alice Team.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Alice 3.1 - Can't rotate, translate
Old
emjuarez1
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Red face Alice 3.1 - Can't rotate, translate - 04-01-2015, 02:29 PM

Most of my students with 32-bit OS experience this problem regularly.
About 70% of my class that have 64-bit OS experience the problem only with the room template. For now, they are using one shot procedures. I submitted a bug report as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Not happening for me in 64-bit
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Not happening for me in 64-bit - 04-01-2015, 02:39 PM

Which version of Alice 3 are they using? I'm running 3.2.5.0.0, and don't see the problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
emjuarez1
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Default 04-01-2015, 07:08 PM

3.2.5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 04-02-2015, 11:30 PM

Just FYI, the dev team has been notified.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
wbarnum
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jun 2015
Default 06-21-2015, 11:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by emjuarez1 View Post
Several times when the object is selected, the yellow rings will not highlight no matter where the cursor hovers to allow the user to rotate, translate and so on.
I've had the same issue. I have documented it in this video:

http://youtu.be/5KSNh-D3r-4
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
properties, rotate, translate

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.