Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > The Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Update 0.14
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Talking Update 0.14 - 05-24-2013, 04:57 PM

Big update released v0.14 (5.0.0), just run the Alice Launcher to automatically update it. This update was almost more effort than its worth (I had to learn to write raw HTTP requests), but I'm sure the effort wasn't for nothing.

The biggest change is that mods are much easier to manage now. The mod manager now actually works properly. There is an in-app store to download mods and styles. Mods are automatically updated.

Here are the main features:
  • Revamped mods tab
    - Got rid of addons sub-tab (not needed)
    - Got rid of themes sub-tab (might make a mod instead)
    - Redone the styles sub-tab, it still needs finished though
    - Redone the mods sub-tab:

    - Added a store sub-tab, quickly view and install mods and styles from it:
  • Now automatically checks for mod updates
  • Disabling mods works properly now
  • Many bugs in loading the config files have been fixed
  • Various other bugs and stuff sorted
Theres a few dummy buttons added that do nothing yet, the styles tab isnt finished yet, uploading mods or styles is a bit dodgy and there may be a few download issues, but they are all being fixed right now.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Works Again in Alice 2.4
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Arrow Works Again in Alice 2.4 - 03-13-2015, 12:09 PM

Alice 2.4 broke this. I fixed it.

I extracted the program code from my old broken computer, fiddled with it until I could use it and fixed it so that it works with Alice 2.4 (such that the same fix shouldn't need to be done for any future Alice updates) and fixed a bunch of warnings and errors under the hood.

No features have been added, modified or removed, what wasn't fully implemented before still isn't. But, now it works again, so great.

It should automatically update if anybody still has it installed (which I doubt), if you use the installer, then it will install the latest version (1.0).


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
RavenOfCode
Senior Member
 
RavenOfCode's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 408
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Thumbs up 03-23-2015, 06:48 AM

This is awesome, and really cool, no idea how you did this as I will never be able to do anything like this...

Thumbs up


Stuff + Other Stuff + Different Other Stuff = Things :)

My best Alice game:

Clash of the Cubes (an arena fighting game):
http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=10738&highlight=game
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 03-23-2015, 10:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
Alice 2.4 broke this. I fixed it.

I extracted the program code from my old broken computer, fiddled with it until I could use it and fixed it so that it works with Alice 2.4 (such that the same fix shouldn't need to be done for any future Alice updates) and fixed a bunch of warnings and errors under the hood.

No features have been added, modified or removed, what wasn't fully implemented before still isn't. But, now it works again, so great.

It should automatically update if anybody still has it installed (which I doubt), if you use the installer, then it will install the latest version (1.0).
Still awesome, after all these years.

Or rather, after BOTH these years :P


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
RavenOfCode
Senior Member
 
RavenOfCode's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 408
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Default 04-26-2015, 06:48 PM

Having issues with the mod tab not being displayed?

Any suggestions?


Stuff + Other Stuff + Different Other Stuff = Things :)

My best Alice game:

Clash of the Cubes (an arena fighting game):
http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=10738&highlight=game
   
Reply With Quote
Help...
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Arrow Help... - 04-26-2015, 08:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
Still awesome, after all these years.

Or rather, after BOTH these years :P
Thanks X, nice to see that you are still here and active, that's awesome.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenOfCode View Post
Having issues with the mod tab not being displayed?

Any suggestions?
OK, so, if you have definitely ran the installer and selected the right folder with Alice to install to, then there will be a new shortcut alongside the Alice one, it looks like this:

You have to run that instead of the Alice exe, this just means Alice is still usable as normal if this breaks.
If that isn't there, then something is wrong.

Then, the Alice Launcher window will pop up (after a splash screen), it should have a mods tab, like this:

(Image was massive, click for full resolution).
That is inside the Alice Launcher window before Alice launches, you can click to launch Alice from there (or set it to auto launch next time).

If that window doesn't show up, or if you have Alice set to auto launch, then you can get to it from right clicking the icon in the system tray:


If somehow the Alice Launcher window hasn't shown and that icon isn't in the system tray, but Alice itself is open, then you can get to the Alice Launcher from here:


The presence of that menu also lets you know everything is set up correctly, however I don't think it shows until you actually install some mods too, in that case this little bit in the help menu should always be present if everything is good:


If all that fails, then either its not installed properly, or I need to fix something.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
RavenOfCode
Senior Member
 
RavenOfCode's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 408
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Default 04-27-2015, 06:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post

The presence of that menu also lets you know everything is set up correctly, however I don't think it shows until you actually install some mods too, in that case this little bit in the help menu should always be present if everything is good:


If all that fails, then either its not installed properly, or I need to fix something.
I did everything you said... but the mod tab in alice still isnt showing up...


Stuff + Other Stuff + Different Other Stuff = Things :)

My best Alice game:

Clash of the Cubes (an arena fighting game):
http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=10738&highlight=game
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Question 04-27-2015, 09:58 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenOfCode View Post
I did everything you said... but the mod tab in alice still isnt showing up...
Do you mean the mods menu in Alice? Because that won't show up until you install any mods, which you can do from the mods tab in Alice Launcher.

Is Alice Launcher showing up to begin with? Is the Help menu label there like in the picture above?

So, in Alice Launcher, before Alice has started, you go to the mods tab like in the picture above. Then you can either download a mod from here and install it, or you can click on the "store" sub-tab and install a mod from there, that'll probably throw up an error, just click to continue and ignore it, it lies. Then, if Alice was already open, close it, because installed mods won't take effect until Alice is restarted. If it's not open, then just click the "Launch Alice" button from the top-right of the Alice Launcher window. Finally, once Alice is started, you should have that menu.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]

Last edited by arty-fishL; 04-27-2015 at 10:08 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
RavenOfCode
Senior Member
 
RavenOfCode's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 408
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Default 04-28-2015, 04:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
Do you mean the mods menu in Alice? Because that won't show up until you install any mods, which you can do from the mods tab in Alice Launcher.

Is Alice Launcher showing up to begin with? Is the Help menu label there like in the picture above?

So, in Alice Launcher, before Alice has started, you go to the mods tab like in the picture above. Then you can either download a mod from here and install it, or you can click on the "store" sub-tab and install a mod from there, that'll probably throw up an error, just click to continue and ignore it, it lies. Then, if Alice was already open, close it, because installed mods won't take effect until Alice is restarted. If it's not open, then just click the "Launch Alice" button from the top-right of the Alice Launcher window. Finally, once Alice is started, you should have that menu.
Still not working... Ill try reinstalling it...


Stuff + Other Stuff + Different Other Stuff = Things :)

My best Alice game:

Clash of the Cubes (an arena fighting game):
http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=10738&highlight=game
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
application, java, launcher, memory, mods

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.