Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
I can't move objects anymore
Old
srw
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Join Date: Oct 2015
Default I can't move objects anymore - 10-28-2015, 08:25 PM

I just downloaded the last version of Alice (3.2.5) in Windows 10 but I can't move the objects I put within the scene, the only thing moving is the camera. Obviously I can set the object coordinates but this is impractical for kids.

I am doing something wrong or is this a bug in the last version? In previous versions I moved every object naturally with the mouse/touchpad.

Thanks,
srw
   
Reply With Quote
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default 10-29-2015, 08:37 AM

This would appear to be a problem associated with Windows 10.

The first problem I see is that objects dragged into a world can no longer be reliably selected by clicking on them. Clicking on any object appears to default to "this". Instead they must be selected using the dropdown menu.

Once an object and a "handle style" is selected, , then clicking on one of the circles or arrow heads will usually work, although the responsiveness is spotty at best.

My tests are run on a Dell 1525 x64 Laptop using Windows 10 Pro 32-bit O/S.

Follow-up-
The problem doesn't seem to be as evident when a single object is dragged into the world, but does affect subsequent objects. Also noted that some objects, like cars, don't seem to be as severe.

Last edited by MrMoke; 10-30-2015 at 07:55 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Singhjee
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Join Date: Oct 2015
Red face 10-30-2015, 06:00 AM

Ya it's occur problem in window 10,
If you have window 8.1 and older version then it work fine
other option is use virtual drive for other window if you won't to delete your window 10
   
Reply With Quote
Old
hollyrbraswell
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2016
Default 01-29-2016, 11:40 PM

i was using window 8 it was fine in this version but last day i had updated to windows 10 now i have same problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
nghiaabm
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2016
Default 02-01-2016, 09:33 PM

Because window 10 has some bugs so you need to change to version 8.1 to use it correctly.

nhà thép tiền chế; kết cấu thép
   
Reply With Quote
Updating video drivers
Old
djslater107
Administrator
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 144
Join Date: Jan 2007
Default Updating video drivers - 02-02-2016, 10:09 AM

Actually, Alice will work with Windows 10, but you will probably need to update your video drivers after updating to Win 10, using the drivers from the manufacturer's of your video card, the more general Windows Updates will not always work.

Some users have also had to update their bios.

See this link:
http://alice3.pbworks.com/w/page/549...ideo%20Drivers


Don Slater
Alice Team
Carnegie Mellon University
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
moving, objects, question

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.