Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Suggestion Box

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
reuben2011
Senior Member
 
reuben2011's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 489
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hawaii
Default 02-18-2011, 06:22 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dylmyster22 View Post
I think what he is saying, or atleast what i would hope to be implemented, is to make it so when you place an object down, such as a building, you can go into properties, and there is an option to make it un able to pass through. That would be kind of helpful and would make it easier on the code being put into the methods.
Even better would be to make that property an array of objects that can and can't pass through it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
reaper1395
Senior Member
 
reaper1395's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 53
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default 05-12-2011, 02:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dameria View Post
Haha yeah that would be awesome. To bad it would make everything so slow that you could barely do anything else complex within the game :/
why would it slow it down? in the new version they should theoretically be speeding everything up anyways and hopefully have more commands/ options as well.

supposedly


XBL gt: R3APER 359
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 05-12-2011, 03:11 PM

There are so many different things that could go wrong with a built in collision detection, and knowing how Alice is right now, it would probably be buggy to the point where our collision detections work better anyways. Imagine all of the possibilities of importing custom objects, all of the misplaced axises and high poly counts, they would suddenly have collision detection for all of their sides? It's probably not going to happen, and if it did, again, it would probably fail.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 05-27-2011, 12:54 AM

When it comes to collision detection, games tend to use extremely simple objects such as rectangles and capsules instead of actual polys. It's cost efficient and no one would notice, or at least not care since clipping in complex objects or gaping holes between two objects are almost expected in games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 05-27-2011, 10:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Kidnapper View Post
When it comes to collision detection, games tend to use extremely simple objects such as rectangles and capsules instead of actual polys. It's cost efficient and no one would notice, or at least not care since clipping in complex objects or gaping holes between two objects are almost expected in games.
Sometimes they take this too far, like in COD, its really annoying not being able to get onto a crate or a wall when the top of it is at a ridiculously able-to-get-to jumping distance. Meanwhile its brilliant where it is acceptable to actually go around the polys, like in Battlefield BC2.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 09-07-2011, 02:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayquincy View Post
Arty,

This is one of my peeves with COD as well. I seriously have spent sometimes streaks of ten minutes at a time trying to climb on to a ledge that has the appearance of being accessible. Hopefully CODMOD 3 will have some fixes with these kinds of issues. Sorry for the thread bump, just kind of something that hit home...
Glad you agree. I hope it will have fixes, but its not likely, the problem just seems to be getting worse with each new COD.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 09-07-2011, 03:08 PM

Well, they said they are getting rid of Commando, Last stand, One man Army, the elevator glitch, and there balancing the gun fire. I think it will be awesome. I can't wait for the campaign! The multiplayer I'm not so excited about, but everything else looks spot on, with breath taking explosions and cutscenes!


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 09-09-2011, 02:31 AM

www.crydev.net/newspage.php?news=73551 Perfect example of collision. For a complicated 14,000 poly Humvee they use some 40 polys for the collision "proxy." Looks exactly like a cardboard box.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
David B
Senior Member
 
David B's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,145
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: N/A
Default 09-09-2011, 03:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dameria View Post
I'm pretty sure he is suggesting this for the Alice Team to implement in Alice 3.0, considering that this is the suggestion box. I agree they should have a collision detection method in Alice 3.0. They are all smarter than we are, they can probably do it easily for us
If you know Python, you could probably add it into Alice 2.2 by yourself.

Yes, I think it would be a good idea, but sometimes I like coding it myself.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2018, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.