Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Share Worlds

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
towers of hanoi
Old
robertcolberg
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Talking towers of hanoi - 05-07-2010, 03:02 PM

he towers of hanoi was a ancient story of 3 towers and 64 rings in beginning all 64 disk are on one tower. the goal is to move all disk to one of the other towers, using the third tower as a spare. there are two strict rules
1. only one disk may be moved at a time
2. a larger disk may never be placed on top of a smaller disk

type in towers of hanoi game in google and play then play this alice program and watch it solve the puzzle
this puzzle only has 20 disk but still takes forever to complete
it took me about 15 minutes to make i might not update it it was just for fun and wanted to share
i know i can make it alot better (time ending at end of program and not keep running) but see what you think
Attached Files
File Type: a2w towers of hanoi(2).a2w (299.4 KB, 382 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 05-07-2010, 04:24 PM

Its ok. But yah, definatly needs work


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
zenteo
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 110
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Default 05-07-2010, 05:22 PM

Wow that's pretty impressive!
It does 13 moves per second on my computer and I don't think you could get it much faster in Alice. 20 rings are much enough for a sandalone program, you could try it with lesser rings.


Here's the newest version, The Terrain Builder v2.1.1:
http://www.alice.org/community/showpost.php?p=20844&postcount=52
  Send a message via MSN to zenteo  
Reply With Quote
Old
King Gamer(gorit)
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 05-07-2010, 05:56 PM

LOL! mine did 15 while running a bunch of other aplicaations. My rig does have 4 gigs of ram though and a dual core 2.2 ghz processor(not a great processor but for a laptop it is decent). I think it is a great program and great way to show how fast alice can process things.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Niteshifter
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 05-07-2010, 06:04 PM

I remember doing this in a recursion assignment.

Also, it doesn't matter how many cores you have since I'm pretty sure that Alice doesn't multi-thread anything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
zenteo
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 110
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Default 05-07-2010, 06:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by King Gamer(gorit) View Post
LOL! mine did 15 while running a bunch of other aplicaations. My rig does have 4 gigs of ram though and a dual core 2.2 ghz processor(not a great processor but for a laptop it is decent). I think it is a great program and great way to show how fast alice can process things.
Ye of course you could get it faster on different comupters, but I getting it faster on the same computer by changing the code in Alice is worse.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niteshifter View Post
I remember doing this in a recursion assignment.

Also, it doesn't matter how many cores you have since I'm pretty sure that Alice doesn't multi-thread anything.
Ye you're right. Alice takes 50% of my comp's processor power. That means 100% of one of my two processors.


Here's the newest version, The Terrain Builder v2.1.1:
http://www.alice.org/community/showpost.php?p=20844&postcount=52
  Send a message via MSN to zenteo  
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 05-07-2010, 07:03 PM

My computer is very powerful, and it has 1 1/2 terribites of memory which is enough to fit 300 mayas installed!


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 05-07-2010, 07:10 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jediaction View Post
My computer is very powerful, and it has 1 1/2 terribites of memory which is enough to fit 300 mayas installed!
It does not have 1.5 terabytes memory. It might have 1.5 terabytes disk space, but definitly not memory. Most computers now a days have 4GB memory, but 8 is not uncommon either.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 05-07-2010, 07:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dameria View Post
It does not have 1.5 terabytes memory. It might have 1.5 terabytes disk space, but definitly not memory. Most computers now a days have 4GB memory, but 8 is not uncommon either.
Sorry, thats what i ment, i always get those messed up


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Powerhouse64
Senior Member
 
Powerhouse64's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 54
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In ur base, movin ur stuffs
Default 11-06-2011, 12:20 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jediaction View Post
My computer is very powerful, and it has 1 1/2 terribites of memory which is enough to fit 300 mayas installed!
And I hate to burst your bubble, jedi, but the amount of disc space you have doesn't equate to your computer's power. I could hook up an external hard drive to a crappy computer and say that I have tons of disc space, but that doesn't make the computer any faster or more powerful. Just letting you know so that you don't get in trouble with a forum that may not be as forgiving!


Hogwarts: Where everything is made up, and the points don't matter
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
towers of hanoi puzzle

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.