Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

I feel trapped - For each with methods? Print variable?
Old
docsaintly

Cool I feel trapped - For each with methods? Print variable? - 09-28-2009, 10:08 PM

Hello all, I'm a somewhat experienced programmer taking an Alice & Java course to satisfy degree requirements, I feel like I'm trapped inside a box.

I'm trying to do some things that are pretty easy by programming standards, but Alice is being very limiting. I'd like to:

- Show a variable as text on the screen.
I have tried this. I have it set up so that when the user clicks on an object it will increment the variable, i have watched the variable and it indeed increments, but when I have something say it or even print it at the end of the scene, it always reports its initialized value (1).

- Have each object within a list perform a method (and not have to do all the actions within the for all area)

- Copy a method from one object to another.
This is not mandatory, but would be nice. In regular programming I would just copy the code from one class to another.

Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator

Default 09-29-2009, 10:04 AM

Granted, Alice isn't as versatile as some other programming languages, but believe it or not Alice can do all of those things you just asked.

-setting a variable as text: this can be done, and I've done it plenty of times. The only thing that slightly annoys me is the fact that the text-version of the variable has a decimal point and a zero (a double variable). I really don't know why it isn't working for you, but you could always post your world and let me take a look at it.

-having each object in a list perform a method: you could make an index variable for your object list, then have the nth item on the list do something, then have the index variable increment and repeat. This way, you can have one object from the list (your choice based on index) do one method.