Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Fps help
Old
Techique
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Fps help - 05-20-2010, 03:58 PM

So i have my Fps all setup...
Problem is i can look up and walk forward into the sky, or down into the ground... anyway to fix this?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
cbw92
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 05-20-2010, 05:57 PM

It sounds like you're turning the whole characcter forward and backward when you try to aim up and down. Try making two objects, or one object, and control the camera. So the first object will move on a 2d plane (the ground) and the camera is then set vehicle to your first object. Now, seperately turn the camera up and down, and it will function independantly of the character.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 976
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 05-20-2010, 06:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Techique View Post
So i have my Fps all setup...
Problem is i can look up and walk forward into the sky, or down into the ground... anyway to fix this?
I have made a few worlds in which I have a fix to this. What I did was I created a simple cube called "body", and I made it so that any movement forward, backward, left and right is done by "body", but looking up and down is done by the camera, and the camera is vehicle to the body. Try to find my "looktest" world (if you can't find it I can post you a link to it), but I have a method where I use the mouse to look left right up down, but the left and right move the body and up down move the camera, so the body always stays parallel to the ground and does not move up when I am looking up and moving forward at the same time.

Does this make sense?


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Techique
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 05-20-2010, 06:48 PM

Yes, thank you ill keep this in mind but, somehow it fixed itself... must of been something i did. another question though, I have Health setup for my player, now im doing health for zombies.... but how do you setup separate health bars for each zombie? i have a variable that holds each zombie.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 976
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 05-20-2010, 07:05 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Techique View Post
Yes, thank you ill keep this in mind but, somehow it fixed itself... must of been something i did. another question though, I have Health setup for my player, now im doing health for zombies.... but how do you setup separate health bars for each zombie? i have a variable that holds each zombie.
This would be a lot easier if the world function "(object's) variable named ____" worked properly, because then you could just have health variables for every zombie and use a list for all of them with that function being used to check each one. The only way I can think of doing this though would be to have a very large if else statement with a nested if/else for every zombie that is being checked. For instance the zombie is hit, it runs the health method, and you put in the zombie that is hit as the parameter for the method, and in the method you say if(zombie == zombie1) ((with zombie as the parameter)), then you do whatever method you have for lowering it's health, else if zombie == zombie 2, and then the next health method for zombie 2 using his own unique health variables.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Techique
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 05-20-2010, 07:13 PM

Seems Tedious..... I think i Might make them One shot zombies.. and have maybe a few bosses and setup the health like i did with my player Health.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 976
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 05-20-2010, 07:17 PM

Yeah, that is what most people do. I can't wait until they fix that function though so that I can use it. Try dropping that function into an if else statement though and tell me if it works, it might just be my version that does not work.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Techique
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 05-20-2010, 07:21 PM

Hold on I'll check it out

__________________________

Didn't work
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Techique
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 05-20-2010, 07:26 PM

Hm.... Quite Confused now....

Bullet 2 meters near "item_from_Zombies"
"item_from_zombie" Turn Back .25 revo's

but instead they all 3 i have setup right now turn backwards one after another think you can check it out?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 976
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 05-20-2010, 07:31 PM

Its because it checks to see if the bullet is within all 3 of the zombies, and when it is within one of the zombies, you say to all 3 zombies backwards. If you want it to only turn the 1 zombie backwards that the bullet collides with, create a seperate method called "die" and add an object parameter for "zombie", then in that code when it checks to see if the bullet is within each of the zombies, you just run the method world.die with the zombie parameter being "item_from_Zombies". This way, it only runs one method turning only that one zombie backwards, but not all of the zombies from the list like you had before.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2024, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.