Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
noahx23
Senior Member
 
noahx23's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 81
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: outside of the box
Default 04-17-2011, 11:42 AM

The issue isn't finding it, the issue is that it isn't there. When I go to blender foundation, blender, there isn't a single folder in the blender file. When I did a search the only thing that came up was a desktop icon for blender.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 04-17-2011, 12:09 PM

What OS are you running?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 04-17-2011, 02:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by noahx23 View Post
The issue isn't finding it, the issue is that it isn't there. When I go to blender foundation, blender, there isn't a single folder in the blender file. When I did a search the only thing that came up was a desktop icon for blender.
I was having the same trouble, i even looked in the AppData file on my computer, and it just wasn't there, but i opened up blender and found out that it already contained the Collada plugin, so you might want to check to see if your Blender file already has it


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
noahx23
Senior Member
 
noahx23's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 81
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: outside of the box
Default 04-17-2011, 04:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfunk View Post
I was having the same trouble, i even looked in the AppData file on my computer, and it just wasn't there, but i opened up blender and found out that it already contained the Collada plugin, so you might want to check to see if your Blender file already has it
It has a collada plugin, but it said the minor version number of the file I was importing was newer than the importer and wouldn't work. Also i still need the .ase exporter
Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
What OS are you running?
XP
answers in red
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 04-17-2011, 05:07 PM

well you have to export the object as a wavefront(obj) and convert it into an .ase file with biturn


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
noahx23
Senior Member
 
noahx23's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 81
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: outside of the box
Default 04-17-2011, 06:13 PM

oh...didn't know that...anyways the collada importer doesn't work which is my main problem
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 04-17-2011, 09:25 PM

which type of blender did you download? try downloading the 32 bit if you originally downloaded the 64 and vice versa, you might get a better result with the different program


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 04-17-2011, 10:33 PM

Okay, big question that should be answered for everyone to see, how do you set a new pivot point, and how do you reduce file size? these are crucial to make an object accessible, i figured out how to move a pivot point around in blender, but how do you get it to stick to the object once you export it?


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 04-18-2011, 11:02 AM

Tab, Shift+Ctrl+4, Tab, Object>Transform>Center Cursor

And to reduce filesize, run a poly reducing script (built-in, usually) while the object is in vertex mode (Tab)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 04-18-2011, 12:05 PM

Hey X, how do you get the full version? I can't convert, because it says I need the full version. I downloaded where you told me to


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2018, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.