Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Glitch during fixing a bug, then critical saving error
Old
GameKid
Senior Member
 
GameKid's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 467
Join Date: May 2011
Location: My magnificent castle
Default Glitch during fixing a bug, then critical saving error - 11-08-2011, 10:45 PM

First, I was fixing a bug in snack defender that if you click a beetle more than once, it keeps smashing itself, when for some reason it wouldn't let me put a boolean in an if/else statement. I tried quitting and saving, but then this happened.
An error has occurred while attempting to save your world.
This is a critical situation that needs to be dealt with immediately.

NOTE: Please check for a directory co-located with
your world named "Backups of <YourWorldNameHere>" which
should contain previously saved versions of your world.

We at the Alice Team apologize for any work you have lost

Please accept our sincerest apologies. The Alice Team.




Alice version: 2.2 02/10/2011



Throwable that caused the error:

java.lang.RuntimeException: Could not find ancestor: world, class: class edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.World
Key:
Details: x class edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Variable


at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.internalGetKe y(Element.java:776)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.getKey(Elemen t.java:791)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.reference.DefaultRefe renceGenerator.generateReference(DefaultReferenceG enerator.java:39)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Property.encodeRefere nce(Property.java:651)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.property.ObjectArrayP roperty.encodeObject(ObjectArrayProperty.java:155)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Property.encode(Prope rty.java:683)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.internalStore (Element.java:1670)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.internalStore (Element.java:1722)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.store(Element .java:1768)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.store(Element .java:1781)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.store(Element .java:1784)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.store(Element .java:1816)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.dialog.Store ElementProgressPane.construct(StoreElementProgress Pane.java:42)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.progress.ProgressPane$2.run(Prog ressPane.java:84)

at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)


I worked on fixing that glitch for nearly an hour. Could anybody tell me why that happened, what I should do, and how to avoid the error?


[COLOR=e4eaf2]Your text here[/COLOR]
Come on, you know you want to try it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 11-09-2011, 01:19 AM

Check your variable properties. One of them is probably blank or points to something that no longer exists.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
GameKid
Senior Member
 
GameKid's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 467
Join Date: May 2011
Location: My magnificent castle
Default 11-09-2011, 06:50 PM

Okay..... That makes sense. It was probably the military radio I was implementing that mysteriously dissapeared from the object list, but still existed in the world. It happened because I ignored the glitch and simply replaced the radio, with a radio with the excact same name.
So that's it. The military radio got glitched out and deleted, still thinking it's existing, when I add another with the same name and point to it in a method.
Wow. That was suprisingly simple, although I still think it's odd that the boolean function glitched out.
Thank you.


[COLOR=e4eaf2]Your text here[/COLOR]
Come on, you know you want to try it.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2024, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.