Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Educators > Teaching with Alice

Storytelling Alice
Old
Amy Billig

Default Storytelling Alice - 06-23-2007, 12:14 PM

I just read through the SIGCSE 2007 Tea Party presentation and am curious about Storytelling Alice. I've been using Alice in my class for about 6 months and would like to know (1) is Storytelling Alice a different version of the software or a different approach to using the software? and (2) Where can I get some ideas for using Storytelling Alice?

Old
MiR

Default 06-25-2007, 12:24 PM

Found this on terranova from March this year

Storytelling in Wonderland

Nate Combs

In Ruby Slippers we discussed (in comments) the dreadful state that computer science education finds itself in the west US. Kami mentioned CMU's Alice in comment back then and Grady Booch reminds us anew recently:

"(Alice is) a modern programming environment designed to be a student's first exposure to object-oriented programming. It allows students to learn basic computer science while creating animated movies, simple video games, where students control the behavior of 3D objects and characters in a virtual world."

From SIGCSE feedback it may be that Alice is back (if it ever went away) with a Wonderland vengence. Will virtual worlds be the driver that revives computer science?

Take a look at the 2007 SIGCSE presentation (8mb PPT). Note the instructional material at aliceprogramming. From the SIGCSE slides, the 3.0 version is slated for release in 2008. Mentioned is Caitlin Kelleher's work with Storytelling Alice (dissertation, 15mb PDF): Using Storytelling to Make Computer Programming Attractive to Middle School Girls.

Worth the visit!
(http://terranova.blogs.com/terra_nov...elling_al.html)

Same author and his dissertation, so it seems a technique of using alice in educational context, not a special software.

Storytelling Alice
Old
lanceA

Default Storytelling Alice - 06-26-2007, 11:57 AM