Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > The Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 05-10-2011, 10:27 PM

This'll come in handy for some of the more complex Alice made models I've seen. I once saw an extremely faithful recreation of kirby and sonic for a Super Smash Bros world, but he never got it off the ground because of the complexity of the models.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Lightbulb 05-11-2011, 02:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
This'll come in handy for some of the more complex Alice made models I've seen. I once saw an extremely faithful recreation of kirby and sonic for a Super Smash Bros world, but he never got it off the ground because of the complexity of the models.
That's what Im hoping to happen, just got to squash these annoying bugs


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
iua
Senior Member
 
iua's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 111
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default 05-11-2011, 05:43 PM

I want Gloo bad.
I want Gloo. I want it NOW!!!
lol


I was taught well...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 05-11-2011, 08:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
This'll come in handy for some of the more complex Alice made models I've seen. I once saw an extremely faithful recreation of kirby and sonic for a Super Smash Bros world, but he never got it off the ground because of the complexity of the models.
If you like I could create an actual usable model of kirdy for you in sketch up, kirby wouldn't be hard at all, just like five spheres would have to be made for him lol


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Question 05-12-2011, 05:03 AM

To illustrate the issues I'm having with Gloo I have glued together Jediaction's supercannon from Halo - The Generator. This model was made up of a docking station, some cylinders and bits of trees.

Firstly when you import it you will notice that there are only three subparts of the super_cannon object showing in the object tree, which are the - renamed - subparts of the docking station (the parent of the group), but there are clearly more than 3 objects that make up the super cannon.

Upon closer inspection you will find that in the viewport you can click on the hidden subparts and their properties will show up, along with the name at the top, but they are still not visible in the object tree.

Next you should find that the objects will only move together if you drag the parent object (the docking station). If you drag any child part it will move as if affect subparts was ticked.

But, on the positive side, its still glued together as one object, it can be exported and imported as one object, it can be copied as one object, if dragged correctly it will move as one object.

What do you think?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg capture20.jpg (13.9 KB, 66 views)
Attached Files
File Type: a2c Super_cannon.a2c (1.88 MB, 14 views)


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]

Last edited by arty-fishL; 05-12-2011 at 05:07 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
reaper1395
Senior Member
 
reaper1395's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 53
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default 05-12-2011, 02:38 PM

it wont let me open it, you saved it as a2c, not a2w


XBL gt: R3APER 359
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 05-12-2011, 03:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by reaper1395 View Post
it wont let me open it, you saved it as a2c, not a2w
That's how you're supposed to save objects, so you can use them in any world. Just go to File > Import in Alice rather than File > Open .
Or just press Alt-F-I


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
reuben2011
Senior Member
 
reuben2011's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 489
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hawaii
Default 05-12-2011, 06:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
Next you should find that the objects will only move together if you drag the parent object (the docking station). If you drag any child part it will move as if affect subparts was ticked.
All objects have a property named something like isFirstClass and if the value is true, the object or sub-object will be movable. In objects that contain sub-objects, by default, the isFirstClass property of the parent object is true while the isFirstClass property of the child objects is false. It sounds like you have the isFirstClass of the sub-objects set to true when they should be false. I'm not sure if you already knew that, just trying to help.


Projects
-Escape the Kitchen
-That ninja animation
-Hill Collision

Upcoming Projects
-Some penguin adventure game?
   
Reply With Quote
Thankyou
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Lightbulb Thankyou - 05-13-2011, 03:23 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by reuben2011 View Post
All objects have a property named something like isFirstClass and if the value is true, the object or sub-object will be movable. In objects that contain sub-objects, by default, the isFirstClass property of the parent object is true while the isFirstClass property of the child objects is false. It sounds like you have the isFirstClass of the sub-objects set to true when they should be false. I'm not sure if you already knew that, just trying to help.
Oh . Thanks, I've always wondered what that property done, I could never figure it out, probably because I was only messing about with parent objects.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 05-15-2011, 04:40 PM

You just need to make it set the isFirstClass of all the subparts it creates to false.


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gloo, glue, make, merge, subpart

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2018, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.