Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
TauTrumpsPi
Senior Member
 
TauTrumpsPi's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 399
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The diamond layer
Default 06-23-2012, 04:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMoke View Post
My School district restricts Task Manager for student logins, and in some cases, teachers.
A students only recourse is to logoff and back on to clear the frozen program, which wastes time.

Will this get patched soon?
Just out of curiosity, does it restrict security options, Ctrl-Alt-Del, or does it actually restrict task manager? Because if it's just security options, you can use the Ctrl-Shift-Esc shortcut to get to task manager.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have plenty of common sense. I just choose to ignore it.
-Calvin and Hobbes

Wondering about my Avatar?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tardigrade

Wondering about my username?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jG7vhMMXagQ
   
Reply With Quote
Not Important
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Not Important - 07-06-2012, 03:02 PM

Haven't been back to campus this summer. It would be nice, however, to have the bug fixes released before the end of July. All workstations will have a new image by then, and I will need to install the software packages that I need for my classes.

I won't install or use packages that are known to have significant bugs.

Last edited by MrMoke; 07-07-2012 at 12:29 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
beachbum111111
Senior Member
 
beachbum111111's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: under your bed
Default 07-06-2012, 03:34 PM

Maybe its because your using hotspot shield. I am and that's when I started getting the same error.


"Don't lead me into temptation I can find it myself"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
JV018
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2008
Location: South Dakota
Default 08-21-2012, 04:16 PM

My students have the issue of the program frrezing and not letting them close it. I have the same issue with task manager. WE are able to open a 2nd Alice window but would like to fix the issue of the program freezing on the students? We had the same issue with our old laptops as we do on our new laptops. We just reloaded the program today. Does anybody have any ideas on how to fix this problem?
   
Reply With Quote
Version 2.3 fixed it.
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Talking Version 2.3 fixed it. - 08-26-2012, 03:36 PM

Thanks Don
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.