Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > The Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 11-10-2011, 08:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by debussybunny563 View Post


You mean you ACTUALLY loled?

:O
Indeed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DensetsuNoKaboom View Post
The Yu-Gi-Oh card game is actually pretty fun if you know how to play it.

But coding it in Alice would be a nightmare.
Bah.

Write the script outside Alice in an editor that's actually worth a darn, then copy and paste.

To me, the hard part would be keeping the filesize of the texture needed for the cards low. You'd have to pack the sucker in a zip file or only include like 30 or so cards.

Though now that I think about it, a bit of cleverness would be to get a background of the cards with no text, then save the individual cards as the tiny pictures and the black text only, then have the background be a base beneath each text picture.

I'm optimizing my app right now, so I'm into this sort of thing at the moment.
   
Reply With Quote
hmm..
Old
fourbros
Senior Member
 
fourbros's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 476
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Right Behind You...
Question hmm.. - 11-10-2011, 08:45 PM

you gonna do it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 11-10-2011, 08:52 PM

First thing I do when I come back to Alice is finish RP.

Meantime, I'm working on the app.

So no can do. Apologies.
   
Reply With Quote
Alright
Old
fourbros
Senior Member
 
fourbros's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 476
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Right Behind You...
Talking Alright - 11-10-2011, 08:57 PM

That's okay.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 11-11-2011, 06:01 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
Write the script outside Alice in an editor that's actually worth a darn, then copy and paste.
So you're saying that one should just make the script in Jython in something completely different, then plop that into Alice and call it an Alice game?

Sure that would work, except that !) I'm not sure that would still be an Alice game, 2) neither I nor he have any idea how to code in Jython and 3) It would still be pretty darn hard if Jython is anything like Alice.


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.

Last edited by DensetsuNoKaboom; 11-11-2011 at 06:03 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
InsertName
Senior Member
 
InsertName's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 341
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: In a house
Default 11-11-2011, 12:15 PM

I didn't even know Jython -> Alice was possible.


__№_₤⅞__
Handguns: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=45349
MINECRAFT IN ALICE: http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=48208
My Stupid Animations: http://alice.org/community/album.php?albumid=119
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.