Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Obtaining Position
Old
bullet
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Obtaining Position - 01-24-2014, 01:04 AM

Is there a way to programmatically find the x, y, and z of an object?
   
Reply With Quote
Yes
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Yes - 01-24-2014, 07:17 PM

Every object has a position() function. To use it you must first create a Position variable by clicking "create new variable" button, then click the "other option, and selecting "Position".

You can then set the variable's contents to the position of any object.

From there you can modify the "up, "right", and "forward" values of the variable.

Now you can do a moveto World on any object, and set the more/offset option to use the modified position variable.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg demopic.jpg (98.8 KB, 16 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
bullet
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default 01-25-2014, 12:32 AM

I'm sorry. I didn't specify the version. I'm using Alice 3.1, but can't find how to get the position.
   
Reply With Quote
Oh Well
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Oh Well - 01-27-2014, 07:31 PM

No way that I know of either
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.