Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
"The current method is not called by any events..."
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default "The current method is not called by any events..." - 04-23-2015, 05:16 PM

In the current version of Alice 2.4 (as well as prior versions IIRC), when checking to see whether the current method is called by any events, it only checks world events, not events associated with specific objects. Thus, even if a method is called multiple times by an object's events, the world will still display the "The current method is not called by any events..." message. Not a terrible bug, but rather annoying...


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 04-24-2015, 05:32 AM

Hi!


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
fourbros
Senior Member
 
fourbros's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 476
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Right Behind You...
Default 04-24-2015, 09:06 AM

Welcome back DNK


My avatar is from the anime "Hyouka".......

You've probably never seen it, much less heard of it.....

You should watch it........


print("Hello World")
This is python code.

Lakers > Clippers
Vikings > Packers
Cardinals > Brewers/Pirates/Cubs/Reds
   
Reply With Quote
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default 04-24-2015, 11:39 AM

You may want to post examples to justify your comment, as just because a method has been pre-built into an object doesn't mean that it has to be used.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 04-24-2015, 05:05 PM

Here's a super-quick example world I made. As you can see, the "world.my first method" runs fine when the world starts as it's supposed to, but on playing the world Alice displays the message since the method is under "ground" in the Events window.

I guess Alice just hasn't heard of that method since it's so under ground.
Attached Files
File Type: a2w object event bug.a2w (162.0 KB, 2 views)


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default 04-24-2015, 06:17 PM

Don't see the problem.
Looks more like a programmer error rather than a Program Bug. "world.my first method" is the default main for a world, and it's simply telling you that a required reference was removed.
Clicking "Restart" over and over won't generate the error again because the play window is still open.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Funnybone
Senior Member
 
Funnybone's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 177
Join Date: Jan 2015
Default 04-24-2015, 06:31 PM

Give a screen shot of it's layout, I might know how to counter it.


hello
















this signature loves you
   
Reply With Quote
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default 04-24-2015, 07:35 PM

Waste of Time
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 04-24-2015, 07:45 PM

I'm gonna try explaining this again, since I don't think I was clear enough at first.

When you play an Alice world, if the method you're currently editing isn't called by any other methods or events, Alice gives a warning telling you that this method isn't going to be used at all in the world.

However, in the example world, Alice gives this warning when "world.my first method" is the currently opened method, even though there is an event which calls the method. That's not supposed to happen.

Again, it's not a very important bug at all. You can work around it just by making sure to close the methods before playing the world. However, having to close the method or click through the warning every time you play the world gets a little annoying.


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Funnybone
Senior Member
 
Funnybone's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 177
Join Date: Jan 2015
Default 04-25-2015, 12:23 AM

That "method" might have to be deleted before the method you just made can be considered primary. No other methods should be opened. (if that's the case)

If that isn't the case, try using the primary method (world.myfirstmethod). Copy all of your event nodes to the primary method (said here above)

And if that's also not the case, I can't help you.


hello
















this signature loves you
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.