Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

View Poll Results: What do you think i should do?
start again 0 0%
try to fix the problem 1 100.00%
Voters: 1. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Alice crashing unexpectedly
Old
Xylophonejoe
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2014
Angry Alice crashing unexpectedly - 11-18-2014, 10:28 AM

I am having a problem where if i click on a certain button (see image)animation 15 picture.jpg a window pops up (unfortunately i have no picture of this) but it says that alice has encountered a problem, and i should report this problem on the forum. Any ideas on what is happening, and how to fix it? Oh, and i have tried uninstalling and re-installing alice, and i have tried on three different computers. I am using alice 3

Last edited by Xylophonejoe; 11-18-2014 at 10:31 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
AliceAndConnor
Senior Member
 
AliceAndConnor's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 73
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada, B.C.
Lightbulb 11-18-2014, 12:24 PM

Hello! I think I might know what it is, but I'm not quite sure. Does this just happen with a specific world, or does this happen with even a new world, too? Very weird... Maybe emailing don@alice.org might help since Don Slater is the lead programmer at Alice!
If that doesn't work and it does just get that error for that one specific world, is the camera vehicling something and that object is vehicling the camera? Because I do know that in Alice 2 when ever I run a world with that kind of code, it'll give me an error message when I run the world. But the way it was crashing on your thing was because you pressed that drop-down button for the camera.
Sorry if this wasn't too much help... But if all of the above fails, Alice 3 is still in Beta stages so maybe this is a bug that could possibly be fixed in the future?


Connor + Alice Forever! (-:

Website: www.mccgameco.com

Have a nice day!

Also, I've been gone for a really long time, more than I can even remember and am now going to be way more active! :-D
   
Reply With Quote
r.e. connor
Old
Xylophonejoe
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2014
Default r.e. connor - 11-18-2014, 12:29 PM

Thanks ,
This seems to only be happening in a specific world. I cant change the vehicle though, to see if that is the problem, since that is the problem in the first place! I will deffinitely get in touch with the alice dev though.

Thanks, Joe
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Xylophonejoe
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2014
Default 11-18-2014, 12:31 PM

Oh sorry i misread ur reply. No the script doesnt have any vehicling involved in it.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crash, crashing, encountered a problem, error

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.