Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Passing Variables in a Recursive method
Old
gransalamandra
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Passing Variables in a Recursive method - 05-31-2011, 09:38 AM

I'm experimenting with Alice to create a recursive method.

I created a frog that is supposed to say a Fibonacci sequence (10 levels using recursiveness). A Fibonacci sequence is 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, et cetera, where the two last numbers are added together to create the next number.

I created the recursive method and set two variables to record the current value and the next number, but I'm failing to pass the number to the variables.

I tried _FibNumber set value to (_FibNumber + _FibLastNumber) for the next iteration, did not work, I even tried with 3 variables but when I test, the variable doesn't change. Any ideas?

I even tried to pass a regular number value to the variables but it just keeps coming back with the original value of one

Last edited by gransalamandra; 05-31-2011 at 09:39 AM. Reason: added information
   
Reply With Quote
Old
TauTrumpsPi
Senior Member
 
TauTrumpsPi's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 399
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The diamond layer
Default 05-31-2011, 02:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by gransalamandra View Post
I'm experimenting with Alice to create a recursive method.

I created a frog that is supposed to say a Fibonacci sequence (10 levels using recursiveness). A Fibonacci sequence is 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, et cetera, where the two last numbers are added together to create the next number.

I created the recursive method and set two variables to record the current value and the next number, but I'm failing to pass the number to the variables.

I tried _FibNumber set value to (_FibNumber + _FibLastNumber) for the next iteration, did not work, I even tried with 3 variables but when I test, the variable doesn't change. Any ideas?

I even tried to pass a regular number value to the variables but it just keeps coming back with the original value of one
If you post your world, I could probably be more help, but from your description it seems like you are using class-level variables instead of world-level. With a class-level variable it resets itself to its original value every time you play the method. Make your variables world level instead, see if that works.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have plenty of common sense. I just choose to ignore it.
-Calvin and Hobbes

Wondering about my Avatar?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tardigrade

Wondering about my username?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jG7vhMMXagQ
   
Reply With Quote
Tau: You are a genious
Old
gransalamandra
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Tau: You are a genious - 05-31-2011, 05:45 PM

That worked... I pull the variables out to the world-level and it worked.

I have now a frog that calculates a Fibonacci sequence using a recursive method and also created another one that uses and Astronaut using iteration.

Is not homework, but I'm learning about programming concepts and the more you do, the more you understand.

Best regards,

Juan Primo :-)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
TauTrumpsPi
Senior Member
 
TauTrumpsPi's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 399
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The diamond layer
Default 05-31-2011, 08:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by gransalamandra View Post
That worked... I pull the variables out to the world-level and it worked.

I have now a frog that calculates a Fibonacci sequence using a recursive method and also created another one that uses and Astronaut using iteration.

Is not homework, but I'm learning about programming concepts and the more you do, the more you understand.

Best regards,

Juan Primo :-)
Glad to help!


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have plenty of common sense. I just choose to ignore it.
-Calvin and Hobbes

Wondering about my Avatar?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tardigrade

Wondering about my username?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jG7vhMMXagQ
   
Reply With Quote
i need help keep getting a error
Old
datgurlindia96
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Join Date: Oct 2015
Default i need help keep getting a error - 12-02-2015, 09:40 AM

i cant get rid of the error and it wont calculate.
Attached Files
File Type: a2w Fibonacci Numbers.a2w (1.44 MB, 4 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default 12-02-2015, 01:58 PM

The purpose of a function is to return a value. The big problem I see is that you have created an endless string of calls to the same function.

Last edited by MrMoke; 12-02-2015 at 02:02 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.