Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

animal objects blacken on my mac
Old
wsmac

Default animal objects blacken on my mac - 01-23-2008, 10:30 PM

I am new to Alice and programming.
I just started an Intro to Programming class at my college this week and we're using Alice.

I have a problem, but here's a little info...

I run a MacBook, 10.4.11, using Alice 2.0.4.

Here's what happens...
I create a New World and add an object... specifically the Bunny.
Every method involving movement that I add has so far worked just fine.
When I add either the "Say" or "Think" methods, my bunny turns black or 'empties', leaving a black silhouette of the bunny.

When I tried this with the cat, cow, and penguin, they just darken slightly like a shadow is over them or they 'grey' out, if you will.

So here's an example:

bunny turn R 1/4 rev.
bunny move forward 1m
bunny turn L 1/4 rev.
bunny say "Hello"
- as soon as the 'Hello' bubble disappears, the bunny turns into a black silhouette and remains that way no matter the methods that follow. If I restart, the bunny starts out as a black silhouette.
If I stop and play again, the bunny returns to normal and turns black after the bubble disappears.

Now... for the cat, cow and penguin...

They do the same thing as the bunny with the exception of not turning black but just darkening slightly.
If I add a method immediately after the "Say" or "Think" method, then instead of greying out... there's a slight 'blip' as if they were trying to grey out, but they don't and then they go on to finish the other methods.

So far, when I email the file of my world to my instructor and he plays it on a Windows machine, it appears normal the whole way through.

I was wondering if maybe the methods for the "Say" and "Think" have something in them that takes, or tries to take, away a layer of the object when the bubble goes away.