Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 3 > How Do I?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Suggestions
Old
Anders
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Post Suggestions - 02-14-2010, 12:16 AM

I have a few suggestions for Alice 3...

1. You could have a sprite-sprite relationship, sort of like magnets. I've notices that characters can't hold anything or move anything without hours of programming. I tried to make a knight hold a sword,but I can't unless I spin it his way and move it up and roll it more...It's just too much work! You could have handheld objects from the library able to be held by characters and such.

2. You can't access the limbs and parts of things! This makes it impossible to program your own actions for objects to do. You can't spin the arm of a character, only the whole thing.

3. I used to make games with Alice, but then I realized that you can't play them outside of the program. Is there some sort of program that you can use to export the games on?

Thanks!

-Anders
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 02-14-2010, 04:23 AM

1. Do you know about the vehicle property? Try setting the sword's vehicle to the knight's hand.

2. I'm not sure what version of Alice you're using (or what model you're using), but all the versions I've used allow subpart manipulation.

3. That's being looked into. At the moment, you can export Alice 3 worlds into Netbeans and do fun programmy stuff to them there, you can use the outside player to play a world without having to start Alice (though you still have to have Alice installed), and you can also use Mama to import your world and export it as a standalone file.

The link for Mama is right here:

http://en.eytam.com/downloads


(')>

Last edited by x2495iiii; 02-14-2010 at 07:24 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Thanks!
Old
Anders
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Thanks! - 02-14-2010, 12:12 PM

Thanks, that helped a lot!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Izzuddin
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 02-17-2010, 01:32 PM

I think Alice should bring back the Fade in and fade out tool i like how it worked on its first program of Alice!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 02-17-2010, 03:33 PM

The first Alice? I started on 2.0


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Izzuddin
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 02-17-2010, 04:47 PM

I just used all the programs XD!!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.